Interesting but odd article...in my opinion

 Post Reply    Back to Forums
1–25 out of 45 messages
Author Message

newscred Posted - 8/20/2013 3:05:22 PM | show profile | flag this post

Just read an article in The Atlantic by Steve Clemons. It was in response to the shooting death a few days ago of an Australian college student; a random killing by three teenagers who 'were bored so decided to kill someone'. The intent of the article was to call again for more background checks for gun owners, a good thing in my personal opinion. But he smoothed over the kind of animals these killers were, using soft terms in describing them and their 'circumstances'.

"...killed by three juveniles...the idiocy and delinquency of these young thugs...there are too many disengaged youth...(need to) prioritize building "healthy communities" that shun violence and provide opportunities for youth..."

The article named good democrat senators trying to change the laws and pointed at 'lousy' republican senators who fight further laws. He may not be wrong in labeling some of these guys good or bad, but not connecting the fact that these killer teens didn't legitimately buy the gun they used doesn't compute with the background check argument. Plus he doesn't call the killers anything stronger than thugs and in a between-the-lines way alleviates these teenage scum of responsibility for their actions, insinuating it's only about the gun and not the scum who used it to satisfy their rapper-like need to "kill someone".


etaoin shrdlu Posted - 8/20/2013 3:15:07 PM | show profile | flag this post

You were making some sense...

until you played the race card.

This was a small town in Oklahoma -- about 24,000 people.

These were kids from one of the whitest states in the U.S. It's a big "Second Amendment" state where guns are common and love of guns a necessity to be taken seriously. This is state with a strong gun culture deeply rooted in the white community.

Barely 1% of the population of Duncan, OK is black. So why the "rapper-like" reference?

Would you say the teens did this "to satisfy their REDNECK-like need to 'kill someone?'"

If you want to make this shooting racial in nature, shouldn't you make it about the dominate culture where it happened?

etaoin shrdlu Posted - 8/20/2013 3:20:27 PM | show profile | flag this post

BTW...

The police chief also agrees with the redneck reference. This from Skynews:

"They wanted to be Billy Bob Badasses," Chief [Danny] Ford said.

http://news.sky.com/story/1130491/australian-student-shot-for-fun-by-us-teens

cruiser Posted - 8/20/2013 6:01:43 PM | show profile | flag this post

Rapper doesn't necessarily connote

black. Think Eminem, etc. The reference to rapper was very likely based on the "gangsta" lyrics, foul language, etc.

But it's entirely typical of the left wingers on here to play the race card at every opportunity.

newscred Posted - 8/20/2013 8:12:28 PM | show profile | flag this post

Race card? How did you get that out of what I said?

Huh??? etaoin, why is mentioning rap...the sort of 'music' so many teens listen to...mean I played the race card? Rap often plays up rape and killing in its lyrics, not a good thing when the teens listening are listless punks like those who did this particular killing.

No, I don't know if these punks actually listen to rap, but I presume they do considering their motive.




mpdodgson Posted - 8/20/2013 10:09:41 PM | show profile | flag this post

Ok, this is what trolling is

Posting something way out there on a BullBord just to see if you get a rise out of people...

Fine. I'll indulge you. The article was pretty good. But I love how you embellish it with "animals these killers were" "teenage scum" "scum who used it to satisfy their rapper-like need to "kill someone".

If you don't think that has a slight racial tint to it--Congragulations. You're a proud member of the national political party who will never again see the Oval Office in our lifetime. (cruise just chimes in. Imagine our shock)

So...back on topic...WHAT THE HELL WAS THE TOPIC??

A shooting death of an Australian student?? OMG. There's about 30 shooting homicides a day in the US. Oh...but this one is horrible, donchaknow, because of that "I don't know if these punks actually listen to rap, but I presume they do considering their motive."

PS By the way....Todays news
DEKALB COUNTY, Ga. - A suspect was taken into custody after gunshots were reportedly fired at Ronald E. McNair Discovery Learning Academy Elementary School in DeKalb County on Tuesday afternoon.

According to police, a white man dressed in all black and armed with an AK-47....

Gee. Was he listening to RAP??

etaoin shrdlu Posted - 8/21/2013 8:55:32 AM | show profile | flag this post

The racial overtones...

in the initial post were obvious -- blaming a music genre associated with black performers for the actions of white teens.

As I pointed out, it would be more appropriate to blame it on the white gun-culture that permeates the region.

It was newscred, not I, who played the race card. I merely responded to it.

cruiser Posted - 8/21/2013 9:06:58 AM | show profile | flag this post

No, pal...YOU played it

in your attempt...as your thought process obviously went...to accuse him of racism.

To expand on what I posted, whites have been listening to rap/hip-hop ever since the genre emerged. It is characterized by a distinctive lyrical style, a distinctive delivery style, etc., which is obvious to the ear. One cannot hear skin color on the radio or the .mp3 player.

YOU made it racist.

blackedtaped Posted - 8/21/2013 10:38:21 AM | show profile | flag this post

Just to point this out...

The shooters in this case were three young black men. Perhaps you guys should get all or even some of the facts before rendering an opinion.
http://www.heraldsun.com.au/news/man-who-dobbed-in-suspects-accused-of-murdering-melbourne-baseball-player-chris-lane-says-his-son-was-next/story-fni0fiyv-1226700172461

A fact is a fact.

Grateful Deadline Posted - 8/21/2013 12:54:05 PM | show profile | flag this post

So? They were all teens, so maybe it's a teenage emulation thing. They were all boys, so maybe it's a male thing. They live in a rural area, so maybe it's a rural thing. The rural area is in Oklahoma, so maybe it's an Oklahoma thing.

See how stupid all of that sounds? Just as stupid as "they were all black."

Grateful Deadline Posted - 8/21/2013 12:57:49 PM | show profile | flag this post

BTW, y'all ought to bone up on the difference between rap and hip-hop so you're at least hatin' on the correct thing.

etaoin shrdlu Posted - 8/21/2013 1:51:07 PM | show profile | flag this post

Thanks, blacked...

but the point remains.

Before the shooters were identified, newscred played the race card.

con Posted - 8/21/2013 3:32:54 PM | show profile | flag this post

for the record........

two black teens and one white teen are your preps.

judging by their racist tweets and tube videos- one is right to question rap influences and gang culture.

"blame it on the white gun-culture "

next will be blame the nra... sad these teens didn't have rush limbaugh on their pods. we could have blamed too.

of course rev. inc and the race industry will be silent- and media double standards will be enforced. still some will ask "what liberal media?"


‘Who will President Obama identify with in this case?’ good question mr. west.....

etaoin shrdlu Posted - 8/21/2013 3:38:50 PM | show profile | flag this post

Forget playing the race card...

con just opened a new deck!

blackedtaped Posted - 8/21/2013 5:11:34 PM | show profile | flag this post

And you, etaoin...

Played the "white redneck" card. After all, they lived in Oklahoma what else could they be but white rednecks.
Prejudice is prejudice, and facts are facts.

con Posted - 8/21/2013 6:15:17 PM | show profile | flag this post

"blame it on the white gun-culture "

now comes word of gang affiliation.

"blame it on the white gun-culture " and "a slight racial tint"- not so much.

we can understand how playing with facts can be mistaken for playing the race card in the minds of the left.



etaoin shrdlu Posted - 8/21/2013 7:08:51 PM | show profile | flag this post

Now you're putting words in my mouth, blacked...

and I expect an apology from you.

What I said was that if newscred was going to play the race card, he should have gone with the white-gun culture angle.

Newscred made this a racial issue in his initial post. I called him on it.

And con, if you will notice, has made it entirely about race.

If you want to criticize, after apologizing to me -- take him to task.

blackedtaped Posted - 8/21/2013 7:21:21 PM | show profile | flag this post

Actually etaoin

You made the leap that only blacks listen to rap. And you claimed they were "white teens". Sorry but your prejudice is showing.

Grateful Deadline Posted - 8/21/2013 7:27:06 PM | show profile | flag this post

Speaking of "facts," the fact that you guys brought rap into the discussion indicates that a cultural problem.

Grateful Deadline Posted - 8/21/2013 7:29:05 PM | show profile | flag this post

Speaking of "facts," the fact that you guys brought rap into the discussion indicates that this thread has a cultural problem.

How about dropping it? And then trying to learn something about people who aren't like you before hitting the keyboard again?

blackedtaped Posted - 8/21/2013 7:55:09 PM | show profile | flag this post

Great advice grateful

Of course if everyone follows that advice this forum would cease to exist. Not a bad idea at all. I'll start

etaoin shrdlu Posted - 8/21/2013 7:59:36 PM | show profile | flag this post

No, blacked...

I never said ONLY black people listen to rap. It is, however, an art form derived from black culture and the black experience in America.

I see you still refuse to criticize con for his blatant racism. Is that an indication of your implicit racism in this matter?

You can apologize at any time.

etaoin shrdlu Posted - 8/21/2013 8:02:27 PM | show profile | flag this post

But this has become racially charged...

just check your facebook pages -- and see what your right wing friends are posting about it right now. Or check the Alan West Tweets.

Odd. A black teen is stalked and killed for defending himself and the right wing goes nuts defending the white man who shot him.

But a white man is stalked and killed and the right is quick to demand the heads of the killers.

Too bad you didn't have that point of view in the murder of Trayvon Martin.

con Posted - 8/21/2013 9:04:23 PM | show profile | flag this post

blacked isn't my keeper or any other poster's keeper. it isn't his or hers job to criticize because you desire it...

etaoin shrdlu, instead of jumping into hyper-liberal mode, take a step back and look at the facts. they don't support your position.

instead of demanding apologizes- research and know the topic you speak of. you won't get your feelings hurt has much.



"the right wing goes nuts defending the white man who shot him."

zimmerman is white? bet that's news to him.....


blatant racism? indeed.....

con Posted - 8/21/2013 9:04:23 PM | show profile | flag this post

blacked isn't my keeper or any other poster's keeper. it isn't his or hers job to criticize because you desire it...

etaoin shrdlu, instead of jumping into hyper-liberal mode, take a step back and look at the facts. they don't support your position.

instead of demanding apologizes- research and know the topic you speak of. you won't get your feelings hurt has much.



"the right wing goes nuts defending the white man who shot him."

zimmerman is white? bet that's news to him.....


blatant racism? indeed.....


1–25 out of 45 messages

 Post Reply    Back to Forums