| Back to Home > Bulletin Board > Media Issues > Topic: Writers Literary Agency - book needs $80 critique |
Topic: Writers Literary Agency - book needs $80 critique
| Author | Message |
| writesonwater | Posted 6/5/2007 6:33:41 PM | show profile I feel very bad for a friend who was sooo excited to hear that WLWritersAgency agreed to take her work, but wanted it critiqued by a professional, and guaranteed to cost her no more than 70 to 90 dollars. Of course, my friend said she would want her book critiqued anyway, so that sounded reasonable. This doesn't sound like what I know about agents -- that they don't get paid until you do. Is it a scam? |
| Bluelight | Posted 6/5/2007 6:53:31 PM | show profile Sounds wrong to me...like another batch of agents out to take advantage of the passions of writers. |
| dymk | Posted 6/5/2007 7:16:04 PM | show profile step carefully... generally, any agency that is on the up-and-up will evaluate a book themselves, not send it to 'a professional.' I'd steer clear of any agency of publisher that suggested this sort of thing. You might also tell your freind to check out Writer Beware -- http://www.sfwa.org/beware/. they have a comprehensive and updated list of scammers. |
| dribbledrive1 | Posted 6/5/2007 7:43:32 PM | show profile It's a scam. A legitimate agent will read the book, and his assistant will read the book without charge. They will make suggestions and work with the writer to bring it into shape. Then they will send it out. No one earns a cent until the book sells. |
| Unemployed-gal | Posted 6/5/2007 8:01:22 PM | show profile It's great that someone wants to see her work, but I'm guessing also that this is NOT reasonable and also a scam. Legitimate agencies and those that belong to the AARR won't charge a reading fee. Tell her to hold off until a REAL agency contacts her. |
| Village Gal | Posted 6/6/2007 8:29:45 AM | show profile It sounds like a scam. If a legit agency likes your work and feels it has potential and is not ready yet, they might refer the writer to a real book doctor and he/she would charge way more than that and then the writer rewrites based upon the critique and hopefully then the agent will take on the project. This process happened to a couple of friends and their books were sold. truthfully, Im surprised someone would be shopping around work that had not already been critiqued. |
| foodlit | Posted 6/6/2007 8:45:09 AM | show profile It is a scam. They are a well known scam agency. Writers NEVER pay agents for anything. It's that simple. Agents SELL books, they don't charge for critiques. Some may charge a small amount for copies, phone expenses, etc. but that never is paid up front, it comes out of commissions from SELLING the book. If the book never sells, the agent eats the expenses. To find legit agents, search www.agentquery.com and publishersmarketplace. Look for a track record of sales, that is the most important factor. It's what you pay an agent for, their connections and ability to place your project with the right editor. Pam |
| writesonwater | Posted 6/6/2007 9:12:02 AM | show profile I told her all of the above and showed her sites citing this company and related ones. I'm hoping she listens. Thanks for the input. |
| littlefloyd | Posted 1/6/2008 5:01:15 PM | show profile | email poster writers literary agency ok i am a little worried.i sent my book to them three weeks ago. they suggested i get a critique done. i paid 95$ and the critique was very good. i only needed to make the synopsis longer and make some changes on page 12. i did that and they sent me a contract.i had a lawyer look at it and it was legit. now my book is being marketed.they said that they will only get their 10% if and when i get published. i have a year contract with them and i can back out in 90 days.they gave me a cr-good designation.they said it was rare but it does happen. this is my first book and i was really excited that they where going to do the work and i just had to wait. they havent ask for money.they email me every two days to let me know what stage their at.NOW I COME HERE AND I READ THIS.it has given me great concerns.i have the book copy writed so that my work is protected.i also am starting my second book which is a follow up because i making a series. i dont know if i have been scammed or if this is liget.please give me advice.please tell me what ive gotten myself into.should i cancell the contract?should i take a chance?i need help since this is my first book and i am not use to the protocal. they said all the right things.they keep in touch with me on a regular basis.they know the book is copy writed and they told me it was very marketable.please tell me if i have been scammed.thank you for your advice |
| littlefloyd | Posted 1/6/2008 5:05:47 PM | show profile | email poster ps they evaluated the book for free but they suggested a unbias third party for the critique.i didnt even use thier company for the critique.they received it the same time i did.thats when they wanted to move it straight to marketing. did i mess up? |
| writesonwater | Posted 1/7/2008 1:02:27 AM | show profile Keep in touch, LittleFloyd -- we'll be interested in seeing when you get published. Good luck! |
| stinking prague | Posted 1/7/2008 4:01:38 AM | show profile Folks, Writers literaru agency is a notorious scam agency. They make money hand over fist because there are so many fools out there willing to fork over money in the cause of their own vanity. I'm just surprised that the ranks of the fooled would include so many fellow journos. finding a literary agent requires a little research. a good hour or two spent researching on the internet would quickly show you what a bunch of rat's aXXholes these guys are |
| foodlit | Posted 1/7/2008 12:49:36 PM | show profile Littlefloyd, You have been scammed, I'm sorry to say. This is probably the most well known scam agency in existence. Every six months or so they change their name just a little so that they can start over and scam more people. Their 'contract' may be legit, but they are not. Anyone can draw up a contract, that proves nothing. Here's the thing, a legit agency will NEVER ask you for money. EVER. That's not what they do. You were scammed out of $95. Here's another tip....no real agency charges 10%. It sounds good, but 10% of nothing is nothing. Every other legit agency charges 15-20% depending on the rights sold. As far as I know, this agency has never actually sold a book to anyone. They make all their money on the fees they charge writers. Did they mention they can also help you with a website? For a nice fee? Cancel your contract and withdraw your book. Focus on getting a real agent. This agency will not send your book anywhere, or if they do, it will likely end up in the trash or languish on an editors desk for months, because this agency is a laughingstock, no editor at a major house takes them seriously. I'm sorry to be so negative, but this is all true, and I hate to see people taken advantage of. Do your research on agents before signing any contract. Check with writer beware and preditors and editors. Really if you just google them you'll find tons of info about them as scammers. In fact, cut and paste this link, from writers beware of the top twenty worst agencies...known scammers. This one is there, along with the other names they go by, http://www.sfwa.org/beware/twentyworst.html Writers' Literary Agency & Marketing Company (a.k.a. WL Writers' Literary Agency), formerly The Literary Agency Group, which includes the following: -Christian Literary Agency -New York Literary Agency -Stylus Literary Agency (formerly ST Literary Agency, formerly Sydra-Techniques) -WL Children's Agency (a.k.a. Children's Literary Agency) -WL Poet's Agency (a.k.a. Poet's Literary Agency) -WL Screenplay Agency (a.k.a. The Screenplay Agency) -Writers' Literary & Publishing Services Company (the editing arm of the above-mentioned agencies |





