| Back to Home > Bulletin Board > Media Issues > Topic: Online/ Virtual Assistant Gallery Furniture |
Topic: Online/ Virtual Assistant Gallery Furniture
| Author | Message |
| Decorama | Posted 4/7/2008 9:42:35 AM | show profile The following ad is bogus: Online/virtual assistant Publication or Company Gallery Furniture & Design Center Industry Furnishing, Other Publishing Salary Competitive Benefits Bonuses Job Duration Part Time Job Location Kent, WA USA Job Requirements Wholesales Furniture Company seeking an Online/virtual assistant. Very good pay, flexible working hours, 100% risk free and you work from home. You'll handle transaction completions and billings. Contact matthewlockard@live.com This ad was posted (at least) once before on MediaBistro. I thought there was something fishy about the ad, in that it reminds me of spammers like our "Nigerian" scammer friends and con men with faux-posh names. So, I went to Gallery Furniture and Sleep Center's website at galleryfurniturekent.com, only to read the following: "PLEASE NOTE: We are not taking applications for an ONLINE/ASSISTANT or any other office position." MediaBistro, do your homework before posting such ads. Didn't SOMETHING ring false to you upon receiving this ad? Honestly. Yes, we're all big boys and girls and we can take care of ourselves and not get caught up in what may well be a CRIMINAL ACTIVITY, but perhaps MediaBistro should screen ads more carefully. |
| Unemployed-gal | Posted 4/7/2008 1:45:21 PM | show profile The "100% Risk Free" is the red flag to me. Also, there aren't any specifics of the position listed. And why would a furniture company be listing a job on mediabistro? Doesn't make any sense. This whole situation reminds me of a position I once applied for online (from another site); I got a bounce-back a couple of days later that said the company was NOT taking applications for any kind of position. I felt foolish, but in hindsight, the ad looked completely legit--the "position" listed specifics of what was required, even informatin about the company was given. Since mediabistro job ads are what, $200 a pop? it surprises me that someone was able to get away with this. And it also surprises me that someone would have the funds to set up an ad like this. And the big question: WHY? |
| Unemployed-gal | Posted 4/24/2008 10:55:57 AM | show profile Looks like the scammer is at it again: http://www.mediabistro.com/joblistings/jobview.asp?joid=76444&page=1 |







