FishbowlNY TVNewser TVSpy LostRemote AgencySpy PRNewser GalleyCat SocialTimes

A Call for Entries for Michael Kelly Award

mk-4.jpeg Journalists can now apply for the Michael Kelly Award, which honors writers and editors at U.S.-based newspapers and magazines whose work “exemplifies a quality that animated Michael Kelly’s own career: the fearless pursuit and expression of truth,” states a release.

Atlantic Media Company created the award to honor Kelly, who died in 2003 while covering the war in Iraq. Kelly was the editor of two Atlantic Media publications, The Atlantic and National Journal.

Among those who have won the award: Seattle Times reporters Ken Armstrong and Nick Perry in 2009 for their series exposing the criminal histories of a Rose-Bowl winning football team; Loretta Tofani in 2008 for her series “American Imports, Chinese Deaths” written for The Salt Lake Tribune; C.J. Chivers in 2007 for a story in Esquire magazine called “The School” an account of the 2004 Belsan school Massacre;

The deadline for entries is February 1, 2010. A prize of $25,000 will go to the winning entry. Each finalist will receive $3,000.

Visit for entry guidelines and forms.
For questions, call Charles Green at 202-739-8417 or write him at

To read articles by Michael Kelly, visit

Mediabistro Course

Freelancing 101

Freelancing 101Starting December 1, learn how to manage a top-notch freelancing career! In this online boot camp, you'll hear from freelancing experts on the best practices for a solid freelancing career, from the first steps of self-advertising and marketing, to building your schedule and managing clients. Register now!