FishbowlDC TVNewser TVSpy LostRemote AgencySpy PRNewser GalleyCat SocialTimes

Christopher Hitchens’ Last Vanity Fair Piece: A Look at Dickens

For his last piece in Vanity Fair, Christopher Hitchens shows his appreciation for Charles Dickens and his works. Hitchens writes about the various characters in Dickens’ books, how he wasn’t exactly fond of America, but that didn’t matter because we fell in love with him, and — if it’s possible — one sentence to sum up Dickens’ writings:

‘Whatever you do—hang on to your childhood!’ He was true to this in his fashion, both in ways that delight me and in ways that do not. He loved the idea of a birthday celebration, being lavish about it, reminding people that they were once unborn and are now launched. This is bighearted, and we might all do a bit more of it.

For fans of Hitchens and Dickens, this final article is a bit of a present itself.

Mediabistro Course

Middle Grade Novel Writing

Middle Grade Novel WritingStarting January 15, work with a literary agent to write your middle-grade novel! In this course, you'll learn how to develop strong characters, write compelling dialogue, master the art of revision, and market your work to publishing houses and agents. Register now!