FishbowlDC TVNewser TVSpy LostRemote AgencySpy PRNewser GalleyCat SocialTimes

Oyster.com Transitioning To Hotel-Transaction Site

oyster_3.16.10.jpg

Oyster.com is making the transition from exclusively providing hotel reviews to becoming a hotel-transaction website in the vein of Expedia and Orbitz. With the help of a third-party inventory provider, Oyster is poised to debut comparison-shopping features in conjunction with advertisers. However, only rooms in certain destinations that have been reviewed professionally will be available for booking through the site.

And, although Oyster co-founder and CEO Elie Seidman says the site will not make a push towards consumer reviews, the review process will nonetheless remain interactive, allowing visitors to offer their own travel experiences through Facebook Connect.

The website is set to launch a “relatively” big marketing campaign in the near future.

Mediabistro Course

Copy Editing: Intro

Copy Editing: IntroStarting January 6, learn basic copy editing skills using the AP Stylebook! In this course, you'll learn how to use dictionaries and online reference tools to edit work, ask the right questions to clarify convoluted copy, prepare for a copy editing test, and tailor your resume to find more work as a copy editor. Register now!