TVNewser FishbowlDC AgencySpy TVSpy LostRemote PRNewser SocialTimes AllFacebook 10,000 Words GalleyCat UnBeige MediaJobsDaily

Oyster.com Transitioning To Hotel-Transaction Site

oyster_3.16.10.jpg

Oyster.com is making the transition from exclusively providing hotel reviews to becoming a hotel-transaction website in the vein of Expedia and Orbitz. With the help of a third-party inventory provider, Oyster is poised to debut comparison-shopping features in conjunction with advertisers. However, only rooms in certain destinations that have been reviewed professionally will be available for booking through the site.

And, although Oyster co-founder and CEO Elie Seidman says the site will not make a push towards consumer reviews, the review process will nonetheless remain interactive, allowing visitors to offer their own travel experiences through Facebook Connect.

The website is set to launch a “relatively” big marketing campaign in the near future.

Mediabistro Course

Overcoming Writer's Block

Overcoming Writer's BlockUse proven tools and exercises to get back to writing! Starting July 15, learn a process that will help you pinpoint your optimal writing conditions, structure your time and build a framework to increase your productivity. Register now!