TVNewser FishbowlDC AgencySpy TVSpy LostRemote PRNewser SocialTimes AllFacebook 10,000 Words GalleyCat UnBeige MediaJobsDaily

PEN Center USA Announces Literary Award Winners

Native Angeleno Ben Ehrenreich won the Journalism category for his Harper’s Magazine story “Drip, Jordan: Israel’s water war with Palestine.” We’re awfully proud of him, just as we are fellow FishbowlLA editor Matthew Fleischer, who was a finalist in the Journalism category.

Other Southern Californians to take home PEN awards include Suzanne Jill Levine of Santa Barbara for the Translation category, Hollywood talents Annie Mumolo & Kristen Wiig for the screenplay Bridesmaids, Alex Ganza, Howard Gordon, & Gideon Raff, who won the Teleplay category for the pilot episode of Homeland.

A full list of winners can be found after the jump.


Siobhan Fallon
You Know When the Men Are Gone (Amy Einhorn Books/Putnam)

Anne Waldman
The Iovis Trilogy: Colors in the Mechanism of Concealment (Coffee House Press)

Research Nonfiction
Candice Millard
Destiny of the Republic: A Tale of Madness, Medicine and Murder of a President (Anchor)

Creative Nonfiction
Eavan Boland
A Journey with Two Maps: Becoming a Woman Poet (W.W. Norton & Co.)

Suzanne Jill Levine
The Lizard’s Tale: A Novel, originally by Jose Donoso (Northwestern University Press)

Children’s Literature
Matthew J. Kirby
Icefall (Scholastic Press)

Graphic Literature
Joe Sacco
Outstanding Body of Work

Ben Ehrenreich
Drip, Jordan: Israel’s water war with Palestine (Harper’s Magazine)

Michelle Carter
How to Pray

Annie Mumolo & Kristen Wiig

Alex Ganza, Howard Gordon, and Gideon Raff
Homeland: “Pilot” (Showtime)

Mediabistro Course

Magazine Writing

Magazine WritingStarting September 4, learn how to get your work in top publications! You'll learn how to create captivating stories editors will want and readers will love, understand which magazines are right for your stories, craft compelling pitch letters, and more! You'll leave this class with two polished articles and corresponding pitch letters. Register now!