FishbowlDC TVNewser TVSpy LostRemote AgencySpy PRNewser GalleyCat SocialTimes

The 2010 BSME Awards

Here’s a bit of awards news from across the pond: Last night marked the celebration of this year’s British Society of Magazine Editors (BSME) awards, held at the Hilton Park Lane hotel in London.

The 2010 award recipients are listed after the jump:

  • Sport, Leisure & Health: Alison Hamlett, Triathlete’s World
  • Youth Magazines: Annabel Brog, Sugar
  • Entertainment & Celebrity Magazines: Mark Dinning, Empire
  • Business & Professional Magazines (non-weekly): Catherine Slessor, The Architectural Review
  • Business & Professional Magazines (weekly): Jane King, Farmers Weekly
  • Special Interest & Hobbies Magazines: Deborah Joseph, Brides
  • Newspaper Magazines & Current Affairs Magazines: Merope Mills, Guardian Weekend
  • Men’s Magazines: Morgan Rees, Men’s Health
  • Women’s Magazines (weekly or fortnightly): Jane Bruton, Grazia
  • Women’s Magazines (monthly or less frequent): Lorraine Candy, Elle
  • Customer Magazines (consumer readership): Tom Stainer, BEER
  • Customer Magazines (business readership): Kenny MacIver, I
  • Lifestyle Magazines: Tim de Lisle, Intelligent Life
  • Consumer Magazine Website Editor of the Year: David Moynihan, NME.COM
  • Business Magazine Website Editor of the Year: Lisa Glancy,
  • Launch of the Year: Lisa Smosarski, Stylist
  • Fiona Macpherson Award for New Business Editor of the Year: Peter Guest, “This is Africa” – The Financial Times
  • Fiona Macpherson Award for New Consumer Editor of the Year: Krissi Murison, NME
  • Art Director of the Year – Business: Finnie Finn, I
  • Art Director of the Year – Consumer (weekly or fortnightly): Joe Frost, NME
  • Art Director of the Year – Consumer (monthly or frequent): Marissa Bourke, Elle
  • Innovation/brand-building initiative of the year: Tony Chambers, Wallpaper’s Handmade Issue
  • Campaign of the year: Stuart Macdonald, Inside Housing‘s Safe As Houses campaign
  • Mark Boxer Award: Mike Soutar, ShortList Media
  • Editors’ Editor of the Year: John Micklethwait, The Economist
Mediabistro Course

Middle Grade Novel Writing

Middle Grade Novel WritingStarting January 15, work with a literary agent to write your middle-grade novel! In this course, you'll learn how to develop strong characters, write compelling dialogue, master the art of revision, and market your work to publishing houses and agents. Register now!