FishbowlNY FishbowlDC LostRemote InsideMobileApps InsideSocialGames TVNewser TVSpy AgencySpy PRNewser MediaJobsDaily UnBeige

Oyster Adds 1,000 Bloomsbury Books to its Library

BloomsburyOyster now carries more than 1,000 books from Bloomsbury.

Subscribers to this service can access the eBook editions of Salvage the Bones by Jesmyn WardKitchen Confidential by Anthony Bourdain, and Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas. The full Oyster library contains a selection of more than 500,000 titles.

Here’s more from the Oyster blog: “There’s a lot to choose from, so we’ve selected some more of our favorites to feature in today’s Spotlight. We’re excited to partner with such an incredible publisher to make these titles available to our readers and make our library better than ever.”

Mediabistro Course

Memoir Writing

Memoir WritingStarting January 7, work with a published memoir writer to tell and sell the story of your life! In this course, Wendy Dale will teach you how to create your story around a marketable premise, hone your narrative voice, write a memoir with a solid structure, and sell your memoir before you've even finished writing it. Register now!

NYPL Develops Holiday Book List Generator

NYPL Holiday LionHaving a hard time picking a book to enjoy during your holiday down time? The New York Public Library (NYPL) has developed a holiday book list generator. According to the NYPL Facebook page, the staff has created several book lists in a wide variety of subjects: Architecture, Cooking, Dance, Gardening, Music, Photography, Sports, Theater, Travel, and Wine. Follow this link to check it out.

Amazon Now Delivers Books in an Hour in Manhattan

unnamedAmazon is testing a new delivery service that is practically real time. So called “Prime Now” promises one-hour delivery on certain Amazon products within Manhattan.

Amazon Prime members can order the items through the new Prime Now mobile app. The service is available from 6 am to midnight every day of the week. One hour delivery costs $7.99 but if you are willing to wait two hours, the service is free for Prime members. Amazon’s new building on 34th Street will be the epicenter for these orders.

“There are times when you can’t make it to the store and other times when you simply don’t want to go. There are so many reasons to skip the trip and now Prime members in Manhattan can get the items they need delivered in an hour or less,” stated Dave Clark, Amazon’s senior vice president of worldwide operations.

Expect to see this available in more cities next year.

Diane Guerrero Inks Memoir Deal

Diane GuerreroDiane Guerrero, an actress who has appeared on the Orange is the New Black Netflix series, has landed a memoir deal.

Henry Holt and Company has scheduled publication for In The Country We Love to take place in early 2016. Senior editor Serena Jones acquired the manuscript.

According to the press release, Guerroro (pictured, via) talked about the “heartbreaking story of her family’s nightmarish struggles as undocumented residents seeking citizenship—but ultimately deported—in the United States” publicly in a L.A. Times op-ed. She will share more details about this ordeal in her book. Michelle Burford, a writer who has written biographies about Olympic gymnast Gabby Douglas and singer Toni Braxton, will serve as the co-author for this project.

Robert Atkins Signs On as Guest Artist For the America’s Army Comic Series

America's ArmyRobert Atkins will serve as the guest artist for four issues of the America’s Army comic series. In the past, Atkins has worked on the GI JOE comic series.

Here’s more from the press release: “The America’s Army comic series provides an inside perspective into the world of Soldiers in the U.S. Army, their jobs and the challenges they face. Based on the highly successful PC game, the America’s Army comic follows American forces deployed to the small nation of Czervenia where President-General Kazimir Adzic and his advanced army launch a genocidal war against the neighboring country of the RDO, setting in motion a mysterious plan that could change the course of world power.”

IDW Publishing recently released the twelfth installment of this series. Atkins’ artwork will be featured starting in the thirteenth issue. Follow this link to access these free digital comic books from the United States Army.

Legendary Pictures Picks Up Movie Rights For The Damned

DamnedLegendary Pictures has optioned the movie rights for Andrew Pyper’s The Damned.

Deadline reports that the book is “an elevated supernatural thriller in the vein of The Sixth Sense or Jacob’s Ladder.” The story follows a writer named Danny Orchard who is haunted by the ghost of his psychopath twin sister.

Simon & Schuster will release this novel on February 10, 2015. Alex Hedlund and Tracy Stevens, two executives at the film production company, will oversee the development of this film adaptation.

Trinity University Press Has Acquired Maverick Publishing

tupTrinity University Press has acquired the assets of Maverick Publishing Company, an imprint dedicated to publishing books about the Southwest.

Beginning next year, Trinity will launch a new imprint called Maverick Books. The line will include more than 40 backlist titles from the Maverick collection and will publish new titles dedicated to the history and culture of Texas and the American Southwest. Lewis F. Fisher, the founder of Maverick will work with Trinity University Press as an editorial advisor, which will include acquiring and writing books for the imprint.

“Trinity University Press has enjoyed significant growth and success nationally and internationally during its first ten-plus years of publishing,” says Thomas Payton, associate director of Trinity University Press. “Core to our mission is a commitment to explore the history and culture of Texas and its peoples, as well as the Southwest more broadly. The Maverick acquisition helps to deepen our catalog of available print and ebook titles.”

Larry King Performs a ‘Farewell Poem’ For Craig Ferguson

Craig Ferguson will be leaving The Late, Late Show on December 19th. In honor of Ferguson’s departure, Larry King read a “farewell poem” during his appearance. The video embedded above features King’s full performance—what do you think?

India’s Latest Superhero Speaks Out Against Rape

privaFilmmaker Ram Devineni has concerns about the rise in violence against women in India. So he created a new comic book hero to help inspire Indians stand up to against rape.

Her name is Priya. After being sexually attacked, Priva travels the country to speak out against victim shaming.

NPR has more:

After months of traveling around India talking to all sorts of people, including rape victims, about sexual violence, Devineni decided to create Priya. Shunned by her family and village after she is raped, she takes refuge in the jungle and is stalked by a tiger. Parvati, a Hindu goddess, comes to her aid and grants her special powers that include fearlessness and a magical mantra that she uses to change people’s minds.

Rare Books Dealer Abe Books Reveals Its Most Expensive Books Sold This Year

les-maitres-de-lafficheAbeBooks.com a site that sells used and rare books has revealed its list of the 50 most expensive books sold this year.

The most that fetched the most money was Les Maîtres de L’Affiche (5 vols) which sold for $43,450, followed by a copy of Das Kapital by Karl Marx which went for $40,000. Call for the Dead by John le Carré  sold for $22,500. A copy of Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll & illustrated by Salvador Dali brought in $20,000. A Farewell to Arms by Ernest Hemingway went for $18,000 and Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone by JK Rowling earned $15,956 for the bookseller.

The list also includes rare books from Hemingway, le Carre, Steinbeck and Frank Herbert. Follow this link to see the whole list.

 

NEXT PAGE >>