FishbowlNY FishbowlDC LostRemote InsideMobileApps InsideSocialGames TVNewser TVSpy AgencySpy PRNewser MediaJobsDaily UnBeige

Neal Stephenson & Hugh Howey Join Amazon Worlds Program

Fans of Neal Stephenson, Hugh Howey, Barry Eisler and Blake Crouch can sell fan fiction on Amazon based on selected books from these writers’ work. In addition, comic book publisher Valiant Entertainment has also joined Amazon’s program.

Writers can visit this page to start writing for the Kindle Worlds program. Amazon revealed the program earlier this year, allowing authors to write fan fiction based on someone else’s work and share royalties with the rights holders. Here is the complete list of books in the program:

Amazon Publishing has secured licenses from Warner Bros. Television Group’s Alloy Entertainment for Gossip GirlPretty Little Liars, and The Vampire Diaries; Valiant Entertainment for Archer & ArmstrongBloodshotHarbingerShadowman, and X-O Manowar; Hugh Howey’s Silo Saga; Barry Eisler’s John Rain novels; Blake Crouch’s Wayward Pines series; and The Foreworld Saga by Neal Stephenson, Greg Bear, Mark Teppo, Eric Bear, Joseph Brassey, Nicole Galland, and Cooper Moo.

Here’ more about the payment structure:

Amazon Publishing will pay royalties to both the rights holders of the Worlds and the author. The standard author’s royalty rate (for works of at least 10,000 words) will be 35% of net revenue. As with all titles from Amazon Publishing, Kindle Worlds will base net revenue off of sales price—rather than the lower, industry standard of wholesale price—and royalties will be paid monthly.

Over at FanFiction.net, you can read more than 500 stories about Gossip Girls, nearly 300 stories about Pretty Little Liars (both books and TV show) and more than 800 Vampire Diaries stories.

Mediabistro Course

Memoir Writing

Memoir WritingStarting January 7, work with a published memoir writer to tell and sell the story of your life! In this course, Wendy Dale will teach you how to create your story around a marketable premise, hone your narrative voice, write a memoir with a solid structure, and sell your memoir before you've even finished writing it. Register now!