FishbowlNY FishbowlDC LostRemote InsideMobileApps InsideSocialGames TVNewser TVSpy AgencySpy PRNewser MediaJobsDaily UnBeige

Posts Tagged ‘C.S. Lewis’

C.S. Lewis: ‘Your book bill ought to be your biggest extravagance’

In a 1941 letter to a student, the great novelist C.S. Lewis delivered some advice that should apply to all readers and writers: “Your book bill ought to be your biggest extravagance.

How much do you spend on books? One Reddit user made an online poster to frame the quote (embedded above)–remember Lewis’ words the next time you are debating buying something at your local bookstore.

The CS Lewis Society of Frederick, Maryland has more about the quote: “From a letter dated April 8, 1941 to Derek Brewer from C.S. Lewis regarding the books he should read to prepare for his time at Oxford, where Lewis was to be his tutor. Found in the Collected Letters of C.S. Lewis, Volume 3, in the supplement, page 1540-1541 in my hardcover copy.  I first discovered the quote in Words to Live By: A Guide for the Merely Christian in the section on Books.”

Mediabistro Course

Freelancing 101

Freelancing 101Learn how to manage a top-notch freelancing career! Starting December 1, you'll hear from our expert speakers on the best practices for launching a freelancing career, from the first steps of self-advertising and marketing, to building your schedule and managing clients. Register now!

Free Customized ‘Go Away, I’m Reading’ Book Covers

Wish you could tune out the world while reading your favorite book? The free “Go Away, I’m Reading” book covers will send a blunt message, customized for your book.

Erin Bowman, Sarah Enni and Traci Neithercott created the simple but inspiring dust jackets pictured above–what cover will you pick?

They have built “Climbing Mount Doom” for fans of J. R. R. Tolkien‘s Lord of the Rings trilogy,  “In Narnia BRB” for readers of C. S. LewisThe Chronicles of Narnia, “At Hogwarts” for aficionados of J.K. Rowling‘s Harry Potter series, “In Forks, Send Help” for fans of Stephenie Meyer‘s Twilight series and finally, “In the Arena, BRB” for readers of Suzanne CollinsHunger Games series.

Here’s more about printing: “These covers will fit the traditionally-sized YA book. Take the PDFs to your local FedEx or Staples and get them printed on tabloid paper (11x17in). We suggest a matte cardstock (you could print on something glossy, but sometimes that causes light glares at certain angles and you want people to be able to read that Go Away message without incident). Choose a weight between 60-80lb for the paper. Anything lighter and the page will be too thin, anything heavier and folding it around your book will be difficult.”

Read more

C.S. Lewis Gets Official Twitter Account

HarperCollins has created the official C.S. Lewis Twitter account. The Twitter feed will include famous quotes, future opportunities and news about his books. As of this writing, the account counts 6,775 followers.

Currently, anybody who tweets about the Twitter feed will receive a free e-Booklet. On November 16th, Lewis’ stepson, Douglas Gresham, will be hosting a live twitter event.

The publisher will also host a book giveaway. Winners will be selected through a random drawing and will receive one of the following books: The C.S. Lewis Bible, A Year with Aslan, A Year with C.S. Lewis or The C.S. Lewis Journal. Follow this link to learn more about the official rules. (Lewis picture via)

C.S. Lewis’ ‘The Magician’s Nephew’ To Be Adapted

Walden Media has thrown Narnia fans a curve ball with the announcement that they will adapt The Magician’s Nephew next in the film adaptation of the series.

Many had expected The Silver Chair (book four) to follow The Voyage of the Dawn Treader. Author C.S. Lewis released Nephew as the sixth book in his seven-book series. According to The Guardian, the prequel is the second most popular book of the series.

Here’s more from the article: “The move would mean a return for [Jadis] the White Witch, played by Tilda Swinton in The Chronicles of Narnia: The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe, since Lewis’s later novel explains how she came to settle in Narnia. Even though her character was destroyed in the first film, The Magician’s Nephew goes back to a time before the first film and tells the story of how the White Witch originally came to Narnia. It is expected that Tilda Swinton will reprise the role.”

Read more

C.S. Lewis Gets His Own Bible

For those who can’t get enough of C.S. Lewis, HarperCollins has published a version of the Bible containing select passages of Lewis’ work.

Here’s more from the book’s description: “ The C. S. Lewis Bible draws upon the distinctive wisdom of Lewis’s celebrated spiritual classics—Mere ChristianityThe Screwtape LettersThe Great DivorceThe Problem of PainMiracles, and A Grief Observed—as well as his other distinguished works, and pairs them alongside the life-giving words of Scripture. As you engage in devotional Bible reading with the full text of the trusted NRSV [New Revised Standard Version] Bible, you will also gain insight from Lewis’s writings and spiritual journey while exploring key issues in the life of faith.”

Last December, the third film installment of The Chronicles of Narnia was released. It starred as Georgie Henley and Skandar Keynes as Lucy and Edmund Pevensie. (Via Publisher’s Weekly)

How to Get Boys to Read

How do you get young boys to read?  Some theorize that limiting video game and Internet usage will help.

The Wall Street Journal reported on a study by Denison University psychology professor, Dr. Robert Weis. An excerpt: “Boys with video games at home, [Weis] found, spend more time playing them than reading … The secret to raising boys who read, I submit, is pretty simple—keep electronic media, especially video games and recreational Internet, under control (that is to say, almost completely absent). Then fill your shelves with good books.”

The idea is to create the best environment possible to coax and foster a love of reading. Provide a quiet space and a selection of good reading material. It can be a commercial Goosebumps title by R.L. Stein or a literary classic like C.S. LewisThe Chronicles of Narnia.

Read more