InsideMobileApps InsideSocialGames 10,000 Words FishbowlNY FishbowlDC LostRemote TVNewser TVSpy AgencySpy PRNewser MediaJobsDaily UnBeige

Posts Tagged ‘Jamie Brenner’

How One Author Changed Her Writing Perspective

JamieBrenner

After a diagnosis of early stage breast cancer, novelist Jamie Brenner found some unexpected writing inspiration.

The experience helped her write stories about characters closer to her life, and she wrote her next novel in a single month. She explained over at Shelf Experience:

while it’s fun to write about 20-something women discovering love for the first time, I am a 40-something woman who experiences love and sex from a very different perspective. And I knew I had to write about that. For the first time, I didn’t show my idea to a publisher. I didn’t even bother writing up a proposal. One week after I had surgery, I sat down at my computer and began writing the story that was bursting in my mind.

Read more

Mediabistro Course

Nonfiction Book Proposal

Nonfiction Book ProposalStarting September 4,work with a literary agent to complete a full proposal that wins an agent and a contract! Ryan Harbage from The Fischer-Harbage Agency, Inc. will teach you how to convey your idea in a winning book proposal format, write your proposal letter, understand the nuts and bolts of the nonfiction book industry, and more. Register now! 

How Writers Can Explore Erotica

The erotica genre has never been more exciting or more crowded. On today’s Morning Media Menu, author Jamie Brenner shared advice for writers looking to explore this new world.

Brenner wrote Miss Chatterley as Logan Belle, creating an erotic and modern update of D.H. Lawrence‘s Lady Chatterley’s Lover. Press play below to listen to the complete interview on SoundCloud. We’ve included some excerpts below…

It’s really important to be aware of what is out there and to know where your work fits. I think a lot of people (and believe me, I don’t have all the answers, by any stretch) who read a lot of romance and erotica like what they like. They’re not necessarily looking for someone to come in and reinvent the wheel. If you are writing something you should have an idea: “Readers who like X, Y and Z will also like my stuff. I fit into this circle of books or readers.” You have to at least know that going in. Once you know where you belong, then you can stretch the boundaries within that genre, niche or milieu. It is really important to know what is working and not to try and write in a vacuum.

Read more

Artists and Artisans & Movable Type Literary Group Merge

Artists and Artisans and Movable Type Literary Group have merged into a new “bicoastal management company” called Movable Type Management (MTM). The combined company counts more than 200 authors and maintain offices in New York and Los Angeles.

MTM will also work on in-house film, television, and digital development. Movable Type Literary Group principle Jason Allen Ashlock will serve as president of Movable Type Management, focused on books and digital. Artists and Artisans founder Adam Chromy will be president of the company’s performance division, Movable Type Media.

Ashlock had this statement: “This is a move that accelerates our strategy to offer authors inventive and expansive management, and to offer publishers properties of utmost value … Combining two successful and highly complementary companies allows us to focus the efforts of each of our members, and create customized strategies for each of our authors. At a particularly challenging and exciting time for the publishing industry, this combination vaults us into a leadership role with our clients and our partners.”

Read more