TVSpy LostRemote AgencySpy PRNewser FishbowlNY FishbowlDC SocialTimes AllFacebook 10,000 Words GalleyCat UnBeige MediaJobsDaily
WKOW TV is looking for a News Director. next job KGW is looking for a News Producer. next job KOB - TV is looking for a Morning Executive Producer. next job WTKR/WGNT TV is looking for a News Producer. next job WPIX11 is looking for a Line Producer. next job Vidicom is looking for a TV News Writer. next job NBCUniversal is looking for a Producer, WVIT. next job Bloomberg LP is looking for a Senior Producer. see all

Couric, Moran Honor Media at Mirror Awards

Mirror061010.bmp The Newhouse School at Syracuse University hosted the 2010 Mirror Awards today, honoring journalism that “shines a mirror” on the media.

“CBS Evening News” anchor Katie Couric MC-ed the event, along with co-chairs Arianna Huffington, co-founder and editor-in-chief of The Huffington Post, and David Zaslav, CEO of Discovery Communications.

In addition to the awards for media reporting, ABC News’ “Nightline” anchor Terry Moran presented an award to Biz Stone and the team at Twitter, and ProPublica editor Paul Steiger presented an award to Bloomberg News.

TVNewser also caught up with “Way Too Early” host Willie Geist who told us a bit about his upcoming book American Freak Show.

According to the guest list, other TV news attendees included CNN ad chief Greg D’Alba, HLN chief Ken Jautz, Morning Joe EP Chris Licht and NBC News social media guru Ryan Osborn.

Huffington praised Couric and CBS News for traveling to the Gulf region every Monday until the oil spill crisis has been resolved, quipping “maybe you can convince the president to go with you.”

Moran, who presented the i-3 award to twitter, was filling in for “Good Morning America anchor George Stephanopoulos, who was sent on assignment.

“It is a great pleasure to be here to present the i-3 award,” Moran said. “I just want to say that what you have lost by not having George Stephanpolous here in star power and political acumen, you have gained in height.”

The winners are below:

Best Single Article, Traditional Media:
Steven Johnson, “How Twitter Will Change the Way We Live” (TIME)

Best Single Article, Digital Media:
Megan Garber, “Common Knowledge” (Columbia Journalism Review)

Best Profile, Traditional Media:
Evan Osnos, “The Forbidden Zone”(The New Yorker)

Best Profile, Digital Media:
Nancy Jo Sales, “The Unreal Rise of Jon and Kate Gosselin” (Vanity Fair)

Best Commentary, Traditional Media:
Michael Wolff (Vanity Fair)

Best Commentary, Digital Media:
Matt Pressman (Vanity Fair)

Best In-depth Piece, Traditional Media:
Dean Starkman, “Power Problem” (Columbia Journalism Review)


Mediabistro Course

Get $25 OFF Podcasting

PodcastingStarting July 31, learn how to develop and create your own podcast in just a a matter of weeks! In this course you'll learn how to determine the goals of your podcast, pinpoint your concept, contact and book guests, distribute and market your podcast and more. Get $25 OFF with code CLASS25. Register now!