TVSpy LostRemote AgencySpy PRNewser FishbowlNY FishbowlDC SocialTimes AllFacebook 10,000 Words GalleyCat UnBeige MediaJobsDaily
Hi SportsNewser readers - thanks for taking a few minutes of your day to check in with SportsNewser over the past year. Moving forward, sports media stories will be featured on our other blogs, including here on TVNewser.

MLB Fans Asked to Vote for Hall of Fame Broadcaster

Do you think Joe Morgan, Joe Buck or Tim McCarver are Hall of Fame-level broadcasters? If so, be sure to vote in the 9th annual Ford C. Frick Award contest, which will help winnow a field of 75 broadcasters down to one new member of the Baseball Hall of Fame.

Starting tomorrow and running through Sept. 30, fans can vote for their favorite broadcaster on the Hall of Fame’s Facebook page. The top three fan selections will be among the final 10 candidates for this year’s Frick Award, which will be selected by a 20-member board including last year’s winner Dave Van Horne, who currently broadcasts Marlins games, and the other living Frick Award recipients.

The 75 candidates include a pair of broadcasters from each Major League city, as well as numerous at-large candidates. Here is the full field:

• Arizona Diamondbacks: Greg Schulte, Daron Sutton
• Atlanta Braves: Skip Caray, Pete Van Wieren
• Baltimore Orioles: Joe Angel, Jim Hunter
• Boston Red Sox: Joe Castiglione, Jerry Remy
• Chicago Cubs: Pat Hughes, Ron Santo
• Chicago White Sox: Ed Farmer, Ken Harrelson
• Cincinnati Reds: Waite Hoyt, Joe Nuxhall
• Cleveland Indians: Mike Hegan, Herb Score
• Colorado Rockies: Jack Corrigan, Wayne Hagin
• Detroit Tigers: George Kell, Jim Price
• Florida Marlins: Tommy Hutton, Rick Waltz
• Houston Astros: Bill Brown, Larry Dierker
• Kansas City Royals: Ryan Lefebrve, Paul Splittorff
• Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim: Dick Enberg, Jose Mota
• Los Angeles Dodgers: Rick Monday, Ross Porter
• Milwaukee Brewers: Merle Harmon, Bill Schroeder
• Minnesota Twins: Dick Bremer, John Gordon
• New York Mets: Gary Cohen, Ralph Kiner
• New York Yankees: Michael Kay, John Sterling
• Oakland Athletics: Ray Fosse, Bill King
• Philadelphia Phillies: Richie Ashburn, Chris Wheeler
• Pittsburgh Pirates: Steve Blass, Lanny Frattare
• San Diego Padres: Ted Leitner, Eduardo Ortega
• San Francisco Giants: Mike Krukow, Duane Kuiper
• Seattle Mariners: Ron Fairly, Rick Rizzs
• St. Louis Cardinals: Al Hrabosky, Mike Shannon
• Tampa Bay Rays: Todd Kalas, Dewayne Staats
• Texas Rangers: Mark Holtz, Eric Nadel
• Toronto Blue Jays: Tom Cheek, Jerry Howarth
• Washington Nationals: Bob Carpenter, Charlie Slowes

• At-large candidates: Thom Brennaman, Joe Buck, Ken Coleman, Jacques Doucet, Ernie Johnson Sr., Ned Martin, Buck Martinez, Tim McCarver, Al Michaels, Joe Morgan, Amaury Pi-Gonzalez, Phil Rizzuto, John Rooney, Steve Stone, Gary Thorne

Where is Don Orsillo? At the very least he deserves an at-large bid.


Mediabistro Course


PodcastingLearn to develop, create, and launch your own podcast! Starting October 23, Steve Belaner, the host of the weekly podcast The Gamut, will teach you how to determine the goals of your podcast, perfect your concept, contact and book guests, market your podcast, and get your show up and running in just a few weeks. Register now!