TVSpy LostRemote AgencySpy PRNewser FishbowlNY FishbowlDC SocialTimes AllFacebook GalleyCat UnBeige MediaJobsDaily

Posts Tagged ‘Susan Swain’

Brian Lamb to Step Down as C-SPAN CEO

It is the end of an era for the C-SPAN suite of public affairs cable networks. Brian Lamb, who founded C-SPAN in 1978 and has served as its CEO (and as a program host) ever since, is transitioning to a new role as executive chairman of the board.

In his place, Rob Kennedy and Susan Swain will become co-CEOs of the channel beginning April 1. The pair had been co-presidents of the channels since 2006, and both had been with the company since the 1980′s.

“Susan Swain, Rob Kennedy, and I have been preparing the company for this transition for several years,” said Lamb in a statement. “While each has their areas of expertise, Rob and Susan complement each other professionally.  I’m pleased that our Board has given their partnership its unanimous endorsement.    They also have a great senior management team with the right skill sets to lead C-SPAN forward.”

More information, after the jump.

Read more

Mediabistro Course

Mediabistro Job Fair

Mediabistro Job FairLand your next big gig! Join us on January 27 at the Altman Building in New York City for an incredible opportunity to meet with hiring managers from the top New York media companies, network with other professionals and industry leaders, and land your next job. Register now!

C-SPAN Launching History Programming Block

C-SPAN is planning to launch a weekend programming block dedicated to U.S. history on its C-SPAN3 network.

The “network within a network,” which it is calling American History TV, will launch January 8-9, and will feature historic speeches from the C-SPAN archives, classes and lectures from history professors, tours of museums and collections, as well as eyewitness accounts from important moments in history.

American History TV follows in the footsteps of C-SPAN2′s weekend block Book TV, which launched in 1998.

“American History TV will provide American history lovers with original programming, done C-SPAN style,” said C-SPAN co-president Susan Swain in a statement. “Look for C-SPAN’s trademark original source and first-person accounts of the American story. We’re hoping American History TV does for history enthusiasts what Book TV has done for non-fiction book lovers.”

More information, after the jump.

Read more

Presidential Debate Round #2

Here are some of the coverage plans for tonight’s town hall style debate at Belmont University in Nashville moderated by NBC’s Tom Brokaw. All the following networks will carry the debate.

ABC: The team of Gibson, Sawyer and Stephanopolous will anchor again, this time from three different cities. Charlie Gibson will be at Bowling Green (Ohio) State University with a group of students; Diane Sawyer will be at ABC News headquarters in New York and George Stephanopoulos will be at the debate. Ron Claiborne and Jake Tapper will report during ABC’s coverage from 9-11pmET.

NBC: Brian Williams anchors from New York. Chuck Todd, Andrea Mitchell, Kelly O’Donnell and Lee Cowan will report from Nashville. Debate moderator Tom Brokaw will not be doing interviews after the debate, but he’ll appear on the Today show tomorrow.

CBS: Katie Couric leads coverage from 9-11pmET, with the live Webcast following on and [It was announced today that Intel Corp. has the exclusive advertising rights for the debate Webcasts.] Bob Schieffer will join from Nashville and Jeff Greenfield will be in New York. Correspondents Chip Reid and Dean Reynolds will report from the debate site. Harry Smith anchored The Early show from Nashville along with correspondent Jeff Glor.

FOX: Shepard Smith will anchor FOX Broadcasting’s debate coverage from 9:00-10:30pmET.

Fox News: Coverage begins at 8:50pmET (after a shortened O’Reilly Factor) and will be anchored by Brit Hume from Washington. Chris Wallace will be on the debate floor. Shepard Smith (at 7pmET), Sean Hannity and Alan Colmes (at 11:15pmET) and Greta Van Susteren (at MidnightET) will anchor their programs from Nashville.

CNN: Anchors Wolf Blitzer, Campbell Brown, Anderson Cooper and Lou Dobbs lead coverage from the CNN Election Center in New York. A special edition of AC360 will air as post-debate coverage until MidnightET. John King will be at the Magic Wall, while correspondents Jessica Yellin, Candy Crowley, Ed Henry and senior political analyst Bill Schneider will be on location in Nashville. [An earlier version of this story reported Suzanne Malveaux and Dana Bash would be in Nashville. They are not]

MSNBC: David Gregory anchors debate coverage beginning at 9pmET and post-debate coverage at 10:30pmET. Countdown with Keith Olbermann airs at 11pmET, with a live Hardball with Chris Matthews at MidnightET.

C-SPAN: Presidential debate preview, anchored by Susan Swain, begins at 7:30pmET.

CNBC: Melissa Francis, Larry Kudlow and John Harwood anchor coverage before and after the debate.

FBN: Neil Cavuto anchors pre- and post-debate coverage.