TVSpy LostRemote AgencySpy PRNewser FishbowlNY FishbowlDC SocialTimes AllFacebook 10,000 Words GalleyCat UnBeige MediaJobsDaily

The AM Ticker: Farrow, Mika, Esser

  • C-SPAN has named Cox Communications president Pat Esser chairman of its executive committee. Esser first joined the board in 2005. He replaces Time Warner cable chairman Glenn Britt, who served as chairman for two years. More details below.

Cox Communications President Pat Esser To Serve As New Chairman Of C-SPAN Executive Committee

Amy Tykeson Joins Executive Committee

Two Others Elected to C-SPAN Board

(October 8, 2013) – The C-SPAN Board of Directors approved the selection of Cox Communications President Pat Esser as chairman of the Board’s executive committee at the annual meeting of the cable network’s board this week. Mr. Esser joined the 21-member C-SPAN board, as well as its executive committee, in 2005.

Atlanta-based Mr. Esser succeeds Glenn Britt, Chairman & CEO of Time Warner Cable, who served two years as C-SPAN executive committee chair. The chairman is elected annually to a one-year term. The seven member Executive Committee is the working group of the Board which can be authorized to set strategy and oversee the network’s finances on behalf of the full Board.

“C-SPAN provides a unique public service by allowing all citizens to be intimately engaged in the daily dialogue of our nation’s government and provides reporting and analysis to further educate viewers,” Mr. Esser said. “The cable industry has always been closely aligned with and deeply committed to their mission.”

Brian Lamb, executive chairman of the C-SPAN Board, said: “Pat Esser has a keen understanding of where the telecommunications industry is headed; particularly with consumer interests, innovative technologies and how C-SPAN may better serve our audience in a digital world. Add to that his deep personal commitment to our unique public service mission and he’s the ideal industry leader to guide C-SPAN at this time.”

Joining the executive committee is Amy Tykeson, President & CEO of BendBroadband, based in Bend, Ore. She joined the C-SPAN Board in 2007.

Also elected to join the C-SPAN Board are Jeff DeMond, CEO of BCI Broadband, and Edward Holleran, President and CEO of Atlantic Broadband. DeMond previously served a term on the C-SPAN board when he was CEO of Bresnan Communications.

C-SPAN’s board of directors is comprised of top executives of cable operating companies. The C-SPAN board, which has had 140 members since 1979, establishes C-SPAN policy and oversees its financial operations, but is not involved in editorial decision making.

About C-SPAN:
Created by the cable TV industry and now in 100 million TV households, C-SPAN programs three public affairs television networks in both SD and HD; C-SPAN Radio, heard in Washington DC and nationwide via XM Satellite Radio; and a video-rich website which hosts the C-SSPAN Video Library. Visit

Mediabistro Course

Reel Reporting: Create Your Reel

Mediabistro Presents: ReelReporting Create Your ReelA good TV reporter won't go far without a standout Demo Reel! Starting November 13, MediabistroEDU and Reel Reporting offer a three-day series for students interested in hosting and news reporting. In this Los Angeles based course, students will learn from and work side-by-side TV agents and On-Air talent to better understand the hiring process and shoot their best reel yet. Register now!