TVNewser LostRemote AgencySpy PRNewser FishbowlNY FishbowlDC SocialTimes AllTwitter AllFacebook InsideFacebook InsideSocialGames InsideMobileApps

Eight Stations Nominated for News & Documentary Emmys

Eight local stations have been nominated for News and Documentary Emmys, The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences announced today. WBZ, WMAQ and WNBC were nominated for Outstanding Regional News Story in the Spot News category, and KING, KNXV, WABC, WTTG and WXYZ in Detroit were nominated for Outstanding Regional News Story in the Investigative Reporting category.

For Spot News, Boston CBS O&O WBZ was nominated for its coverage of the Sandy Hook Elementary School shooting in Newtown, Conn; NBC-owned WMAQ in Chicago was nominated for coverage of the Chicago NATO protests; and NBC-owned WNBC in New York City was nominated for coverage of the shooting near the Empire State Building.

In the Investigative Reporting category, Seattle NBC affiliate KING was nominated for “Their Crime, Your Dime;” Phoenix ABC affiliate KNXV was nominated for “Sheriff’s School of Abuse;” New York ABC O&O WABC was nominated for “Mace in Your Face?”; Washington, DC Fox O&O WTTG was nominated for “UDC;” and Detroit ABC affiliate WXYZ was nominated for “Corruption in the County.”

The full list of nominees is after the jump.


Outstanding Regional News Story – Spot News

WBZ-TV News (Boston, MA)                                                                                 WBZ-TV
News Director
John Verrilli

NBC 5 NEWS AT 10 (Chicago, IL)                                                                      WMAQ-TV
NATO Protest
Executive Producer
Matt Piacente
Laura Meehan, Natalie Templeton, Katy Moore, Bridget Minogue, Lacey McCraney, Anna Vasser, Wendy Talarico, Jennifer
Lay-Riske, Jen Schwarz
Field Producers
Diane Znamierowski, Jeannette Castillo, Ben Bowman, Mike Fitzpatrick, Susan Rivera, Zach Christman, James Langton, Robin Green, Franci Feirstein, Kim Lynch, Bob Ray, Courtney Copenhagen, Katy Smyser, Lisa Capitanini, Don Moseley
Anthony Ponce, Marion Brooks, Kim Vatis, Dick Johnson, Rob Elgas, Stefan Holt, Daniella Guzman, Rob Stafford, Allison Rosati
Lauren Petty, Natalie Martinez, Mary Ann Ahern, Carol Marin, Phil Rogers, Charlie Wojciechowski, Lauren Jiggetts, Lisa Parker, Nesita Kwan, LeeAnn Trotter, Christian Farr, Michelle Relerford, Matt Rodewald
Desiree Arroyo, Alison Ebert, Lisa Gonzalez, Hope Jordan, Patrick Lake, Chuck Bennette, Brian Bertino, Magdalena Soria, Nancy Yanagidate
Noel Montenegro, Brian Moore, Bill Jennings, Steve Curelo, Richard Wineinger, Paul Nagaro, Maria Ruiz, Milton Rivera, Rick Stuckey, Dave Fraser, Joe Amigleo, Silvio Costales, Mable Miller, Ron Zachara, Todd Roberts, Tyndale Hurry, Paul Nickols, Mike Adams, Jeff Lauksmen, Al Brown, Donte Williams Sr., Mark Ringo, Mike McGovern, Ozie Baldwin, Matt Byrne, George Mycyk, Curtis Sweat, Carmen Capriola
Julio Martinez, Eviliss Rivera, Keith Warner, Kevin Dill
Assignment Editors
Angie Rosemond, Marco Stendardo, Stephanie Streff, Jackie Goldman, Anita Selvaggio, Austin Baumann
News Directors
Frank Whittaker, Debra Juarez
Executive News Producers
Dominick Stasi, Todd Woolman, Kathryn Janicek, Joe Kolina

WNBC Breaking News Coverage (New York, NY)                                              WNBC-TV
Shooting Near the Empire State Building
Executive Producer
David Hatcher
Ryan Fisher, Jacquelyn Marrero, Keith Brockmeyer
Segment Producers
Hilary Weissman, Alex Presha, Jennifer Millman
Michael Gargiulo
Marc Santia, Katherine Creag, Katy Tur
Kevin Ford
Joshua Niemi
Assignment Editor
Takena Russell
News Director
Susan Sullivan
Assignment Desk
Robert Sancho

Outstanding Regional News Story – Investigative Reporting

KING 5 News (Seattle, WA)                                                                              KING 5 TV
Their Crime, Your Dime
Chris James Ingalls
Steve Mark Douglas
Executive Producer of Investigations
Kellie Marie Cheadle

ABC15 News (Phoenix, AZ)                                                                                 KNXV-TV
Sheriff’s School of Abuse
Maria Tomasch, Mark LaMet
Gerard Watson
Investigative Reporter
Dave Biscobing

WABC TV News (New York, NY)                                                                         WABC-TV
Mace in Your Face?
Robert Wallace
Director of Photography/Editor
Robert Cantwell

WTTG-TV News (Washington, DC)                                                                     WTTG-TV
Rick Yarborough
Steve Jones
Investigative Reporter
Tisha Thompson

WXYZ-TV Investigative Reports (Detroit, MI)                                                   WXYZ-TV
Corruption in the County
Johnny N. Sartin Jr., Randy Lundquist
Investigative Reporters
Heather Catallo, Ross Jones

Mediabistro Course

Multimedia Journalism

Multimedia JournalismStarting September 25, learn how to create interactive packages with photos, audio, and video! Taught by a multiplatform journalist, Darragh Worland will teach you how to come up stories that would be best told in a multimedia format, and create original content for that package using photos, slideshows, and short video and audio pieces. Register now!