TVNewser LostRemote AgencySpy PRNewser FishbowlNY FishbowlDC SocialTimes AllTwitter AllFacebook InsideFacebook InsideSocialGames InsideMobileApps

KXAS Makes Changes to Morning Newscast as Anchor Scott Friedman Returns to Investigative Reporting

Changes are coming to the morning newscast at KXAS, the NBC O&O in Dallas.

Scott Friedman, who currently anchors the newscast, is leaving the anchor desk to run the station’s newly-launched investigative team.

“I could not pass up the opportunity to be part of this new team,” Friedman said in a statement. The investigative reporting unit, which will be launched when it is fully staffed, will include a producer, researcher and photographer. Friedman will remain at the anchor desk alongside Deborah Ferguson until his replacement is named.

KXAS morning meteorologist Jennifer Lopez is leaving the station after four years. She will be replaced on an interim basis by Samantha Davies, who joined the station last year as meteorologist for the 4:30 a.m. newscast.

Additionally, newly-hired reporters Keaton Fox and Kendra Lyn will report for the newscast. Fox, who will work out of the KXAS mobile unit, joined the station in January from KRIS in Corpus Christi. Lyn, who joins the station from WESH in Orlando this month, will work as a field reporter.

KXAS reporters Ben Russell and Amanda Guerra will also contribute to the newscast. Russell will continue to report live throughout North Texas, and Guerra will handle breaking news and social media.

Tim Livingston, who joined the station in January from assistant news director at WKEF in Dayton, will be the executive producer of the newscast.

Mediabistro Course

Content Marketing 101

Content Maketing 101Almost 60% of businesses use some form of content marketing. Starting December 8, get hands-on content marketing training in our online boot camp! Through an interactive series of webcasts, content and marketing experts will teach you  the best practices for creating, distributing, and measuring the success of your brand's content. Register now!