Liquid Treat AgencySpy AdsoftheWorld BrandsoftheWorld LostRemote TVSpy TVNewser PRNewser FishbowlNY FishbowlDC 10,000 Words GalleyCat MediaJobsDaily

Ryan Trecartin, Will Ryman, Amy Franceschini Among Nominees for $25,000 Smithsonian Artist Award

We don’t envy the jury tasked with deciding the winner of this year’s Smithsonian American Art Museum contemporary artist award. The field of 15 nominees, announced this week, is broad and deep: Matthew Buckingham, Kathy Butterly, Christina Fernandez, Futurefarmers founder Amy Franceschini, Rachel Harrison, Oliver Herring, Glenn Kaino, Sowon Kwon, Ruben Ortiz-Torres, Jaime Permuth, Will Ryman, Ryan Trecartin, Rhizome founder Mark Tribe, Mary Simpson, and Sara VanDerBeek. Established in 2001 as the Lucelia Artist Award, the $25,000 prize recognizes an artist younger than 50 “who has produced a significant body of work and consistently demonstrates exceptional creativity.” Past winners include Pierre Huyghe, Jessica Stockholder, Andrea Zittel, and Jorge Pardo. A panel of five jurors nominated the artists and will determine the award winner in a day of discussion and review. The names of the jurors will be revealed in October when the winner is announced.

Mediabistro Course

Online Production for Writers and Editors

Online Production for Writers and EditorsStarting October 30, learn how translate your written work into multi-dimensional and editorially relevant digital content! In this course you'll learn how to navigate a CMS, crop, resize, and optimize photos, create graphics, enhance static text through HTML/CSS, and measure the effectiveness of your content using analytics. Register now!