Back in May 2011, Lady Gaga became the first Twitter user to reach 10 million followers. Following our last update, six new users have gained entry into Twitter’s 10 million club – Instagram, Twitter en español, Adele, Snoop Dogg, Demetria Lovato and Miley Cyrus – which brings this still very exclusive membership to a total of thirty.

Twitter’s most-followed elite continues to skew heavily towards women, notably pop singers. Sixteen of the top thirty most-followed users – and seven of the top ten – are female.

(Eight if you count Justin Bieber – which I do.)

Only four brands – YouTube, Twitter, Twitter en español and Instagram – have more than 10 million followers.

Twitter’s top 30 most-followed users at the time of writing are:

  1. Lady Gaga (@ladygaga, 30,925,867 followers)
  2. Justin Bieber (@justinbieber, 29,804,326)
  3. Katy Perry (@katyperry, 28,605,670)
  4. Rihanna (@rihanna, 26,536,437)
  5. Barack Obama (@barackobama, 21,718,786)
  6. Britney Spears (@britneyspears, 21,614,348)
  7. Taylor Swift (@taylorswift13, 20,399,623)
  8. YouTube (@youtube, 19,063,039)
  9. Shakira (@shakira, 18,609,132)
  10. Kim Kardashian (@kimkardashian, 16,534,130)
  11. Nicki Minaj (@nickiminaj, 14,868,223)
  12. Oprah Winfrey (@oprah, 14,649,835)
  13. Justin Timberlake (@jtimberlake, 14,475,883)
  14. Ellen Degeneres (@theellenshow, 14,421,597)
  15. Twitter (@twitter, 14,250,045)
  16. Cristiano Ronaldo (@Cristiano, 14,242,778)
  17. Kaka (@kaka, 13,382,097)
  18. Selena Gomez (@selenagomez, 12,979,029)
  19. Ashton Kutcher (@aplusk, 12,909,806)
  20. Marshall Mathers (@eminem, 12,843,333)
  21. Bruno Mars (@BrunoMars, 12,811,268)
  22. Jennifer Lopez (@jlo, 12,608,898)
  23. P!nk (@Pink, 11,606,247)
  24. Chris Brown (@chrisbrown, 11,550,977)
  25. Instagram (@instagram, 11,380,572)
  26. Twitter en español (@twitter_es, 10,534,433)
  27. Adele (@OfficialAdele, 10,442,104)
  28. Snoop Dogg (@SnoopDogg, 10,174,080)
  29. Demetria Lovato (@ddlovato, 10,166,658)
  30. Miley Ray Cyrus (@MileyCyrus, 10,031,302)