InsideMobileApps InsideSocialGames 10,000 Words FishbowlNY FishbowlDC LostRemote TVNewser TVSpy AgencySpy PRNewser MediaJobsDaily UnBeige

Fifty Shades

50 Shades The Musical Goes on Tour

50shadesthemusicalThe musical adaptation of E.L. James‘ bestselling erotica novel 50 Shades of Grey has hit the stage. Written by Al Samuels, Emily Dorezas, Amanda Blake Davis, Jody Shelton, Ashley Ward and Dan Wessels, the show’s North American tour will open in Los Angeles next week.

The theatrical production is a parody of the book that takes things even further than the pages of the novel. The LA Weekly called the performances “ten times raunchier” than the novel. Check it out: “50 Shades! The Musical is a spoof on the sexual intensity of the book and the obsession many soccer moms have with it. When fuzzy pink handcuffs and lipstick vibrators are available for purchase at the merchandise table, you know you’re in for an interesting adventure to say the least.”

Follow this link to check out a video from the show.

Mediabistro Course

Novel Writing: Editing Your Draft

Novel Writing: Editing Your DraftStarting July 16, workshop your novel in-progress with a published author! Erika Mailman's course will function as a workshop, with the emphasis on sharing your work for review and providing critiques for your peers. By the end of this class you'll have up to 75 pages of you novel workshopped and developed patterns to improve your writing. Register now! 

Jamie Dornan & Luke Grimes Join the ‘Fifty Shades of Grey’ Movie Cast

fifty-shades-3001-225x300 (2)Two actors have joined the Fifty Shades of Grey movie cast. Jamie Dornan, best known for playing the Huntsman on the Once Upon a Time series, will replace Charlie Hunnam as Christian Grey.

Hunnam announced that he had dropped out of this project two weeks prior. According to The Hollywood Reporter, Dornan had to read for the role in front of director Sam Taylor-Johnson and author E L James.

The Huffington Post reports that Luke Grimes has signed on to play Christian’s brother, Elliot Grey. In the recent past, Grimes has been seen on the True Blood and Brothers & Sisters T.V. shows.

E.L. James Collaborates with Winemakers for Two ‘Fifty Shades of Grey’ Wines

wineWondering how to pass the time until the Fifty Shades of Grey movie is released next August?

The Huffington Post reports author E.L. James collaborated with a team of California winemakers to create two Fifty Shades-themed wines. The Red Satin is made from a blend of Petite Sirah and Syrah grapes while the White Silk is a mixture of Gewürztraminer and Sauvignon Blanc grapes.

Read more

5 Million Copies of ‘Fifty Shades’ Books Sold in First Half of 2013

Fifty Shades of Grey is the publishing gift that keeps on giving. E L James sold five million print and eBook copies of her erotic trilogy around the world during the first six months of 2013 (sales through Random House’s English, German and Spanish-language publishing arms).

Random House CEO Markus Dohle praised the company’s biggest bestsellers in a letter to employees today, marking company’s final financial results before the Penguin Random House merger took effect. We’ve reprinted the complete letter below, but here’s an excerpt:

INFERNO by Dan Brown sold more than four million copies in its first six weeks throughout Random House’s English-language territories. Sheryl Sandberg’s LEAN IN and WONDER by R. J. Palacio sold hundreds of thousands of copies in North America and the UK, while helping set social agendas and spurring cultural dialogues. The FIFTY SHADES trilogy by E L James added another five million print and eBooks to its megamillion-copy English-, German-, and Spanish-language Random House sales to date.

Read more

How Writers Can Explore Erotica

The erotica genre has never been more exciting or more crowded. On today’s Morning Media Menu, author Jamie Brenner shared advice for writers looking to explore this new world.

Brenner wrote Miss Chatterley as Logan Belle, creating an erotic and modern update of D.H. Lawrence‘s Lady Chatterley’s Lover. Press play below to listen to the complete interview on SoundCloud. We’ve included some excerpts below…

It’s really important to be aware of what is out there and to know where your work fits. I think a lot of people (and believe me, I don’t have all the answers, by any stretch) who read a lot of romance and erotica like what they like. They’re not necessarily looking for someone to come in and reinvent the wheel. If you are writing something you should have an idea: “Readers who like X, Y and Z will also like my stuff. I fit into this circle of books or readers.” You have to at least know that going in. Once you know where you belong, then you can stretch the boundaries within that genre, niche or milieu. It is really important to know what is working and not to try and write in a vacuum.

Read more

Fifty Shades of Alice in Wonderland’s Impressive Sales

The professional novelist who writes under the pen name Melinda DuChamp self-published Fifty Shades of Alice in Wonderland on Amazon, making some serious money by chasing the erotica trend. In an interview at Joe Konrath‘s blog, she shared her sales statistics:

Alice has sold 3560 copies in the UK, and 2540 in the US (plus 1275 loans in the Kindle Owner’s Lending Library) priced at $2.99. Assuming the loans are $2 each, Alice has made close to $15,000 in the last 20 days. That’s more than many of my advances … Alice peaked at #194 in the US, and #56 in the UK. It is currently #643 and #208. At its peak, it was earning over $1,000 a day. Things have slowed down, but it is still outselling all of my other novels on Amazon.

This publishing success story prompted Konrath to add: “if you think you can write erotica, now seems to be the time to give it a shot.” Have you ever considered changing to a more lucrative genre? (Via Karen Woodward)

Fifty Shades of Grey Trilogy Coming in Hardcover Editions

Doubleday will release E L James Fifty Shades of Grey trilogy in $26.95 hardcover editions on January 29. The first combined print run will be 200,000 copies.

Ever since Vintage published the formerly self-published series last spring, the trilogy has sold more than 35 million copies in the United States and 65 million copies worldwide (counting both paperback and digital sales).

Here’s more from the publisher: “The hardcovers will include the full text of each novel, enhanced by these features: Embossed book jackets (adapted from the iconic paperback design). Themed endpapers (ties, masks, handcuffs). Rough front pages. E L James-signature-stamped book cover. Red silk ribbon markers. These editions will be sold both as individual titles, and as a shrink-wrapped set of the three books.”

 

Celebrities Reading Fifty Shades of Grey

E.L. James became the first author to be named Publishers Weekly‘s Person of the Year.

Many members of the publishing community, such as Washinton Post fiction editor Ron Charles, have shared their opinions about this announcement. Celebrities have also weighed in on the Fifty Shades of Grey trilogy.

As rumors continue to circulate about a film adaptation, we’ve rounded-up four videos featuring celebrities reading the book.

Read more

E L James Is Publishers Weekly’s Person of the Year

Today E L James became the first author ever named Publishers Weekly‘s Person of the Year, an annual award given to publishing leaders “shaping and, sometimes, transforming, the publishing industry.”

As part of the award, James will get a cover story and interview in the magazine. She joins a list of winners that includes David Shanks, Larry Kirshbaum, Jeff Bezos and Len Riggio.

Co-editorial director Jim Milliot explained the choice: “From boosting sales of print books through bookstores to putting a spotlight on a genre that had received little publicity, E.L. James’ impact on various parts of the book business cannot be overstated … She is well deserving of our Person of the Year award.”

Read more

The Lost History of Fifty Shades of Grey

The French publisher Lattes has sent “warning letters” to publishers it feels are infringing on the copyright of Fifty Shades of Grey.

The Telegraph had this quote from editorial director Laurent Laffont: ”Some of these titles, which pick up on elements of the book, are clearly parasitical … We would like those planning new releases next year to know that we are watching very closely to ensure they are not parasitical.”

Online authors should never forget that readers can travel backwards in Internet time and explore their earlier work. Author E L James scored a seven-figure book deal to publish the Fifty Shades of Grey trilogy and a movie deal quickly followed.

This erotica bestseller began as a work of Twilight fan fiction called Master of the Universe, earning a massive fan fiction following years before the book deal. Most traces of this fan fiction history have been removed from the Internet. Using the Wayback Machine, we were able to take snapshots from James’ old work–getting a peek into the book’s previous incarnation as an X-rated version of the Twilight story.

Read more

NEXT PAGE >>