The Slate Book Review and the Center for Cartoon Studies have partnered for the Cartoonist Studio Prize. Two winners will be chosen , each receiving $1,000 in prize money.

This contest has two categories: Best Graphic Novel of the Year and Best Web Comic of the Year. Altogether, twenty comics creators have been recognized on the 2012 short lists.

Click here to check out the full announcement. Françoise Mouly, art editor of The New Yorker, will serve as this year’s judge.

Read more