AllFacebook InsideFacebook InsideMobileApps InsideSocialGames SocialTimes LostRemote TVNewser TVSpy AgencySpy PRNewser MediaJobsDaily UnBeige

Britney Spears Becomes Sixth Twitter User To Reach 10 Million Followers

Britney Spears (@britneyspears) has become the latest Twitter user to reach 10 million followers, passing the total on Friday.

Spears joins Lady Gaga, Justin Bieber, President Barack Obama, Katy Perry and Kim Kardashian as the sixth human, fourth woman and third female musical artist to become a member of Twitter’s 10 million club.


Spears took 53 days to move from 9 to 10 million followers.

Shakira, who recently moved above 9 million followers, should be the next person to reach the eight-figure mark. Twitter’s most-followed members list continues to skew heavily towards female celebrities – seven of the top 10 are women.

At the time of writing, Twitter’s top-ten most followed users are:

  1. Lady Gaga (@ladygaga, 14,381,470)
  2. Justin Bieber (@justinbieber, 13,309,185)
  3. Barack Obama (@barackobama, 10,675,468)
  4. Katy Perry (@katyperry, 10,481,994)
  5. Kim Kardashian (@kimkardashian, 10,307,959)
  6. Britney Spears (@britneyspears, 10,099,290)
  7. Shakira (@shakira, 9,088,877)
  8. Taylor Swift (@taylorswift13, 8,415,223)
  9. Rihanna (@rihanna, 8,223,280)
  10. Ashton Kutcher (@aplusk, @7,908,888)

Ashton Kutcher, who was the first Twitter user to reach one million followers, likely won’t be in the top 10 for much longer – Ellen Degeneres, Oprah Winfrey and Selena Gomez should all pass him in the next month or two.

Mediabistro Course

Social Media 201

Social Media 201Starting October 13, Social Media 201 picks up where Social Media 101 left off, to provide you with hands-on instruction for gaining likes, followers, retweets, favorites, pins, and engagement. Social media experts will teach you how to make social media marketing work for your bottom line and achieving your business goals. Register now!