An article showing you how to delete your Twitter profile might seem a little strange from an all-singing, all-dancing and very pro-Twitter blog such as AllTwitter, but there are legitimate reasons for wanting to remove a Twitter account on a permanent basis.
For example, the account may no longer be in use, or perhaps it was something that you only needed on a temporary basis. You might be running multiple accounts and one or more of them is now redundant. Or maybe – just maybe – you’ve given Twitter and a good go and have decided it just isn’t for you.
If the Nicki Minaj fiasco has taught us anything, it’s that deleting your Twitter account does not have to be permanent – Twitter gives you 30 days to change your mind. However, there are times when completely removing a profile is the right thing to do . Moreover, deleting a Twitter profile that you’re 100 percent sure you no longer need is infinitely more proactive than leaving it dormant, because once removed it frees up the username for somebody else. Unfortunately, there are far too many long-abandoned accounts on Twitter, and the powers-that-be aren’t exactly dynamos at cleaning them up.
Here’s how you do it.
- Go to Twitter.com and log into the account you want to delete
- Click on the drop-down menu in the top right-hand corner, and click on Settings
- In the Account tab, scroll down to the button and click on Deactivate my account
Twitter will now present you with bunch of disclaimers and “are you sure?”s which you should read in full, and are as follows:
- We will only retain your user data for 30 days and then it will be permanently deleted. You can reactivate your account at any point within 30 days of deactivation by logging back in.
- You don’t need to deactivate your account to change your username or Twitter URL. (You can change it on the settings page. All @replies and followers will remain unchanged.)
- If you want to use this account’s username or email address on another Twitter account, change it before you deactivate. Until the user data is permanently deleted, that information won’t be available for use.
- Your account should be removed from Twitter within a few minutes, but some content may be viewable on twitter.com for a few days after deactivation.
- We have no control over content indexed by search engines like Google.
If you’re adamant that you’re done with your profile, click on the big blue Okay, fine, deactivate button, and you’re done.
But your account isn’t yet fully deleted. As above, Twitter gives you 30 days to reactivate your profile, which you can do by simply logging back in. Once the 30 days has passed, it’s deleted permanently.
- The 7 Elements of an Optimized Twitter Profile [INFOGRAPHIC]
- This Week on #Twitter: 8 in 10 Social Shares on Facebook, Best Social Media for Business, Social B2B
- Why You Should do a Twitter Audit Today
- What is the Best Social Media Platform for YOUR Business? [INFOGRAPHIC]