AllFacebook InsideFacebook InsideMobileApps InsideSocialGames SocialTimes LostRemote TVNewser TVSpy AgencySpy PRNewser MediaJobsDaily UnBeige

No, That Is NOT You In The Video, Please Do Not Click That Link

Have you received a direct message (DM) on Twitter recently claiming to link to a video of you that was taken without your permission?
Well, the reason “you didn’t see them taping you! lol” is because they didn’t. There is no video of you. But there IS a pretty nasty little piece of malware waiting for you on the other side of that link!
If you’ve already clicked one of these links, you’re likely now sending it out to your contacts as well.

Run your virus scanner and then do all of us a favor by taking the following steps: revoke access to any suspicious applications (go to settings and then apps as demonstrated on the screen below), change your password and never click a suspicious link again!

What happens when you click? Thanks to Sophos, we can show you:
Users who click on the link are greeted with what appears to be a video player and a warning message that “An update to Youtube player is needed”. The webpage continues to claim that it will install an update to Flash Player 10.1 onto your computer.

In this example, the program you are being invited to download is called FlashPlayerV10.1.57.108.exe, and is detected by Sophos anti-virus products as Troj/Mdrop-EML, a backdoor Trojan that can also copy itself to accessible drives and network shares.

Have you seen these DMs – and have you clicked any? You don’t need to confess to it, but speaking for the non-spamming Interwebs population: please stop!

(Don’t click image from Shutterstock)

Mediabistro Course

Social Media 101

Social Media 101Starting November 10, get hands-on social media training for beginners! In our popular online boot camp, you'll hear from social media and marketing experts on how to get set-up on the major social platforms, create meaningful content, and engage with your audience across various sites. Register now!