AllFacebook InsideFacebook InsideMobileApps InsideSocialGames SocialTimes LostRemote TVNewser TVSpy AgencySpy PRNewser MediaJobsDaily UnBeige

The 10 Most Popular People On Twitter [STATS]

The 10 Most Popular People On Twitter [STATS]

Katy Perry, who became the first Twitter user to reach 50 million followers in January of this year, maintains her position as the platform’s most-followed profile, with a lead well in excess of one million followers over second-placed (and former number one) Justin Bieber.

While the rest of the top 10 is unchanged, Taylor Swift has leap-frogged former Twitter queen Lady Gaga, who has dropped from first to fifth place in 18 months, which very much parallels her flagging pop career. Watch for Bieber to follow a similar trajectory over the next year or so.

Here’s the latest look at Twitter’s 10 most-popular individuals.

1. Katy Perry (@katyperry, 54,147,135 followers)
2. Justin Bieber (@justinbieber, 52,644,492)
3. Barack Obama (@barackobama, 43,877,602)
4. Taylor Swift (@taylorswift13, 41,663,063)
5. Lady Gaga (@ladygaga, 41,576,569)
6. Britney Spears (@britneyspears, 37,882,768)
7. Rihanna (@rihanna, 36,083,677)
8. Justin Timberlake (@jtimberlake, 32,910,052)
9. Ellen Degeneres (@TheEllenShow, 29,537,545)
10. Jennifer Lopez (@JLo, 28,112,897)

(Source: Twitter Counter.)

Mediabistro Course

Social Media 201

Social Media 201Starting October 13, Social Media 201 picks up where Social Media 101 left off, to provide you with hands-on instruction for gaining likes, followers, retweets, favorites, pins, and engagement. Social media experts will teach you how to make social media marketing work for your bottom line and achieving your business goals. Register now!