AllFacebook InsideFacebook InsideMobileApps InsideSocialGames SocialTimes LostRemote TVNewser TVSpy AgencySpy PRNewser MediaJobsDaily UnBeige

The 10 Most Popular People on Twitter [STATS]

The 10 Most Popular People on Twitter [STATS]

Katy Perry, who became the first person to reach 50 million followers in January of this year, remains the most-followed individual on Twitter, with a lead that is now closing in on two million followers over second-placed (and former number one) Justin Bieber.

The biggest news this month is the addition of football superstar Cristiano Ronaldo into the top 10, who has added close to one million new followers over the past four weeks. Perry, President Obama and Taylor Swift have also all had big months, while Jennifer Lopez drops to #11 overall.

Here’s the latest look at Twitter’s 10 most-popular individuals.

1. Katy Perry (@katyperry, 55,062,344 followers)
2. Justin Bieber (@justinbieber, 53,331,069)
3. Barack Obama (@barackobama, 44,660,902)
4. Taylor Swift (@taylorswift13, 42,338,943)
5. Lady Gaga (@ladygaga, 41,719,369)
6. Britney Spears (@britneyspears, 38,307,788)
7. Rihanna (@rihanna, 36,654,167)
8. Justin Timberlake (@jtimberlake, 33,533,786)
9. Ellen Degeneres (@TheEllenShow, 30,112,422)
10. Cristiano Ronaldo (@Cristiano, 28,762,701)

(Source: Twitter Counter.)

Mediabistro Course

Social Media 201

Social Media 201Starting October 13, Social Media 201 picks up where Social Media 101 left off, to provide you with hands-on instruction for gaining likes, followers, retweets, favorites, pins, and engagement. Social media experts will teach you how to make social media marketing work for your bottom line and achieving your business goals. Register now!