AllFacebook InsideFacebook InsideMobileApps InsideSocialGames SocialTimes LostRemote TVNewser TVSpy AgencySpy PRNewser MediaJobsDaily UnBeige

Another Milestone For Twitter As @LadyGaga Becomes First User To Reach 30 Million Followers

Music megastar Lady Gaga has become the first Twitter user to reach 30 million followers on the network, passing the total late yesterday (Wednesday, October 3rd).

Gaga was also the first Twitter user to reach 1015 20 and 25 million followers, and accumulated her latest million, whom she refers to as her Little Monsters, in 31 days.

All-told, it took Gaga 125 days to move from 25 to 30 million followers.

Gaga faces increased competition from Justin Bieber for Twitter’s most-followed crown, with Bieber closing the gap from about 2.5 million followers to less than 1.5 million in the last five months.

At the time of writing, Twitter’s 20 most-popular profiles are:

  1. Lady Gaga (@ladygaga, 30,014,947 followers)
  2. Justin Bieber (@justinbieber, 28,593,041)
  3. Katy Perry (@katyperry, 27,351,033)
  4. Rihanna (@rihanna, 26,113,385)
  5. Britney Spears (@britneyspears, 20,853,323)
  6. Barack Obama (@barackobama, 20,500,381)
  7. Taylor Swift (@taylorswift13, 19,249,024)
  8. Shakira (@shakira, 18,305,605)
  9. YouTube (@YouTube, 17,630,863)
  10. Kim Kardashian (@kimkardashian, 16,271,146)
  11. Nicki Minaj (@nickiminaj, 14,542,387)
  12. Oprah Winfrey (@Oprah, 14,137,241)
  13. Justin Timberlake (@jtimberlake, 14,041,983)
  14. Ellen Degeneres (@theellenshow, 13,836,954)
  15. Twitter (@twitter, 13,682,390)
  16. Cristiano Ronaldo (@Cristiano, 13,570,144)
  17. Kaka (@kaka, 12,982,767)
  18. Selena Gomez (@selenagomez, 12,761,095)
  19. Ashton Kutcher (@aplusk, 12,594,667)
  20. Eminem (@eminem, 12,400,314)

(Chart credit: Twitter Counter.)

Mediabistro Course

Social Media 201

Social Media 201Starting October 13, Social Media 201 picks up where Social Media 101 left off, to provide you with hands-on instruction for gaining likes, followers, retweets, favorites, pins, and engagement. Social media experts will teach you how to make social media marketing work for your bottom line and achieving your business goals. Register now!