InsideMobileApps InsideSocialGames 10,000 Words FishbowlNY FishbowlDC LostRemote TVNewser TVSpy AgencySpy PRNewser MediaJobsDaily UnBeige

Fan Fiction

Author Accused of Copying Twilight Fan Fiction

fothesummer

Goodreads reviewer Ari Bookzilla pointed out similarities between Shey Stahl’s For the Summer and a work of Twilight fan fiction.  The book has many scenes, lines and phrases that can be found in Dusty, a fan fiction written by authors YellowBella and TeamBella23.

For the Summer is no longer listed on Amazon or Barnes & Noble, but GalleyCat obtained a copy of the book. We confirmed the similarities mentioned in the Goodreads review.

We contacted Stahl and she responded with this comment: “I’m sorry you feel there are similarities but I have not read the fan fiction in question.” The author defended her work on Facebook last night, but the post is no longer public.

Read more

Mediabistro Course

Nonfiction Book Proposal

Nonfiction Book ProposalStarting September 4,work with a literary agent to complete a full proposal that wins an agent and a contract! Ryan Harbage from The Fischer-Harbage Agency, Inc. will teach you how to convey your idea in a winning book proposal format, write your proposal letter, understand the nuts and bolts of the nonfiction book industry, and more. Register now! 

Kurt Vonnegut Fan Fiction To Be Sold on Amazon

Ever wish you could write Kurt Vonnegut fan fiction?

Amazon has acquired a license to let writer publish and sell Vonnegut fan fiction in its new Kindle Worlds platform. They expect to open the Vonnegut service in  August.

Kurt Vonnegut Trust trustee Donald C. Farber called the move “a natural extension of his legacy and a testament to the enduring popularity of his characters and stories. Billy Pilgrim, unstuck in time, is going to quickly become a Kindle Worlds favorite,” referring to the hero of Vonnegut’s classic novel, Slaughterhouse-Five.

Read more

Neal Stephenson & Hugh Howey Join Amazon Worlds Program

Fans of Neal Stephenson, Hugh Howey, Barry Eisler and Blake Crouch can sell fan fiction on Amazon based on selected books from these writers’ work. In addition, comic book publisher Valiant Entertainment has also joined Amazon’s program.

Writers can visit this page to start writing for the Kindle Worlds program. Amazon revealed the program earlier this year, allowing authors to write fan fiction based on someone else’s work and share royalties with the rights holders. Here is the complete list of books in the program:

Amazon Publishing has secured licenses from Warner Bros. Television Group’s Alloy Entertainment for Gossip GirlPretty Little Liars, and The Vampire Diaries; Valiant Entertainment for Archer & ArmstrongBloodshotHarbingerShadowman, and X-O Manowar; Hugh Howey’s Silo Saga; Barry Eisler’s John Rain novels; Blake Crouch’s Wayward Pines series; and The Foreworld Saga by Neal Stephenson, Greg Bear, Mark Teppo, Eric Bear, Joseph Brassey, Nicole Galland, and Cooper Moo.

Read more

Amazon To Allow Writers To Sell Fan Fiction

Amazon Publishing has reached out to fan fiction writers with Kindle Worlds, a platform allowing authors to write fan fiction based on someone else’s work and share royalties with the rights holders.

Warner Bros. Television Group’s Alloy Entertainment division will work with Amazon on the program, letting fans write about Cecily von Ziegesar‘s Gossip GirlSara Shepard‘s Pretty Little Liars and L.J. Smith‘s Vampire Diaries. Fan fiction writers can publish their own work about these stories in the Kindle Store. The program launches in June. Here’ more about the payment structure:

Amazon Publishing will pay royalties to both the rights holders of the Worlds and the author. The standard author’s royalty rate (for works of at least 10,000 words) will be 35% of net revenue. As with all titles from Amazon Publishing, Kindle Worlds will base net revenue off of sales price—rather than the lower, industry standard of wholesale price—and royalties will be paid monthly.

Read more

The Lost History of Fifty Shades of Grey

The French publisher Lattes has sent “warning letters” to publishers it feels are infringing on the copyright of Fifty Shades of Grey.

The Telegraph had this quote from editorial director Laurent Laffont: ”Some of these titles, which pick up on elements of the book, are clearly parasitical … We would like those planning new releases next year to know that we are watching very closely to ensure they are not parasitical.”

Online authors should never forget that readers can travel backwards in Internet time and explore their earlier work. Author E L James scored a seven-figure book deal to publish the Fifty Shades of Grey trilogy and a movie deal quickly followed.

This erotica bestseller began as a work of Twilight fan fiction called Master of the Universe, earning a massive fan fiction following years before the book deal. Most traces of this fan fiction history have been removed from the Internet. Using the Wayback Machine, we were able to take snapshots from James’ old work–getting a peek into the book’s previous incarnation as an X-rated version of the Twilight story.

Read more

Book That Began as Twilight Fan Fiction Lands ‘Substantial’ Book Deal

Christina Hobbs and Lauren Billings have landed a “substantial” book deal with Simon & Schuster’s Gallery imprint for Beautiful Bastard–a repurposed version of the fan fiction hit, The Office.

The book will be released in February, published under the pen name, Christina Lauren. Hobbs and Billings (pictured) share a blog called Swoontini. The pair are represented by Holly Root from the Waxman Leavell Literary Agency.

The Hollywood Reporter had the scoop: The Office, which reimagined the Edward Cullen-Bella Swan relationship as a steamy love/hate romance between a boss and his assistant, was one of the pioneers of the Twilight fanfic genre, generating more than two million downloads, before being taken offline by the author in 2009.”

Read more

Ballpoint Pen Fan Fiction

In the Amazon UK customer reviews section for Bic’s “For Her” Amber Medium Ballpoint Pen, readers poked fun at the idea of pens designed for women–creating some brilliant ballpoint pen fan fiction in the process.

io9 first spotted the hilarious customer reviews, many of them written about fictional misuse of the pink or purple pens. Here is our favorite:

Things were a bit better when I left school to go and work sweeping up hair at the local salon – yet again, the broom seemed to just fit into my grip as if it was meant to be there – and I saved up to buy a pink laptop. I still had trouble writing for a long time because, although the case was pink, the keys weren’t designed for female eyes which, as we all know, struggle to discern between shades of black and grey. I could write for about 4 minutes at a time, though, and that’s how I found out about these wonderful pens for girls like me.

As soon as they arrived, I was soothed by the pink packaging – I’d been feeling stressed after driving back from work because my hands just won’t stay on the black, leather-effect steering wheel in my cute mini. Anyway, I quickly found a piece of notepaper with pictures of kittens round the edges and had a go at writing my name. It was amazing! The pen just stayed in place between my fingers, just like it always had for the boys in my class at school. Well, in no time I’d filled a whole notepad and had to go and get another one! Now I’ve gone back to night school and hope to realise my ambition of enrolling on a childcare course next year. I’m also halfway through writing an erotic novel set in Victorian times – but with vampires!

Read more

R.A. Salvatore Defends Fan Fiction But Won’t Read It

The great fantasy writer R.A. Salvatore fielded questions in a popular “I am a” interview on Reddit, answering the question facing many popular novelists: “What is your position on fan fiction?” The novelist replied:

I am supposed to tell you that it’s evil and wretched and destroys anything and everything I’ve ever tried to accomplish. Truth is, this is supposed to be fun and entertaining, and when I hear about fan fiction using my characters, or when I see variations of my characters running around in an MMO, I think it’s the coolest thing ever. Truly flattering. Now, I can’t read the fan fiction, for obvious reasons, nor can I consider it “canon,” but I’m still flattered.

Salvatore is the author of The Crystal Shard, The Dark Elf Trilogy, The Hunter’s Blades Trilogy and many other sprawling fantasy novels. His work has spawned countless stories written by fans and an entire Lavender Eyes site dedicated to his fan fiction.

Read more

Twilight Fan Fiction History of Gabriel’s Inferno

Indie romance novelist Sylvain Reynard has landed a “substantial seven-figure deal” with Penguin Group’s Berkley imprint for Gabriel’s Inferno and Gabriel’s Rapture, a series that began as Twilight fan fiction.

This book was born as a serialized Twilight fan fiction story called The University of Edward Masen (abbreviated as UOEM by readers) written under the pen name Sebastien Robichaud. The original manuscript has been removed and the site for Robichaud has been deleted.

Using the Wayback Machine and other tools, we were able to take snapshots from Reynard’s old work under that pseudonym–archiving the book’s fan fiction history (like we did for E. L. James and Fifty Shades of Grey). We’ve included excerpts from the notes below, click on the individual links to explore the pages for yourself. Read more

S.E. Hinton Responds to Outsiders Fan Fiction

The Outsiders novelist S.E. Hinton took to Twitter to talk about fan fiction earlier this week. FanFiction.net counts more than 6,300 fan fiction stories about her beloved novel.

Hinton noted “I normally do not have a problem with fanfics,” but responded to one fan fiction author who imagined an unexpected pregnancy (contains NSFW language) in her classic series. Hinton had an unequivocal response: “bangs head on desk … no no no.” You can read all her thoughts in the Storify post embedded below.

Earlier this year, Hinton told School Library Journal: “I have several things going on. I’m eternally wasting my time on Twitter. I’m also in the middle of a very superficial comedic supernatural thriller thing that I would like to finish. Also, I’m going to be working on webisodes in conjunction with the University of Tulsa film students based on my short stories.” (Author photo via)

Read more

NEXT PAGE >>