InsideMobileApps InsideSocialGames 10,000 Words FishbowlNY FishbowlDC LostRemote TVNewser TVSpy AgencySpy PRNewser MediaJobsDaily UnBeige

Posts Tagged ‘Hugh Howey’

Hugh Howey, Wattpad & Booktrack Kick Off Writing & Sound Design Competition

UnknownAuthor Hugh Howey has partnered with digital writing community Wattpad and eBook soundtrack company Booktrack have introduced a new writing and audio production contest with $20,000 in prizes available.

The Hugh Howey Booktrack & Wattpad Fan Fiction Contest is two-part. Writers are encouraged to write a fan fiction story based around Howey’s novel Half Way Home. Sound designers are encouraged to create a soundtrack for the book. The soundtrack winner will get a $5,000 prize, as well as the chance to co-produce a soundtrack for Howey’s latest novel The Hurricane. The winning writer will earn a $5,000 prize, as well as editorial feedback from Howey on the piece. Finalists will earn $1,000 prizes.

“Storytelling can be so much more than mere words. I love what Booktrack makes possible. Now, a soundscape can heighten our reading experience,” stated Howey. “And this competition is perfect for bringing fans into a creative collaboration. I can’t wait to see what immersive and inspired experience they help create.”

Mediabistro Course

Nonfiction Book Proposal

Nonfiction Book ProposalStarting September 4,work with a literary agent to complete a full proposal that wins an agent and a contract! Ryan Harbage from The Fischer-Harbage Agency, Inc. will teach you how to convey your idea in a winning book proposal format, write your proposal letter, understand the nuts and bolts of the nonfiction book industry, and more. Register now! 

Rachel Van Dyken Leads Self Published Bestsellers List

Author Rachel Van Dyken took two top spots on our Self-Published Bestsellers List with her new adult novel, Ruin.

To help GalleyCat readers discover self-published authors, we compile weekly lists of the top eBooks in three major marketplaces for self-published digital books: Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and Smashwords. You can read all the lists below, complete with links to each book.

If you want more resources as an author, try our Free Sites to Promote Your eBook post, How To Sell Your Self-Published Book in Bookstores post and our How to Pitch Your Book to Online Outlets post.

Read more

George R.R. Martin Adaptation Opens New Amazon Comic Imprint

Amazon has launched its own comic book imprint called Jet City, adapting stories by George R.R. MartinHugh Howey and Neal Stephenson.

The comics will be released in Kindle editions “as standalone comics, as serialized comics released over multiple episodes, and as bundled graphic novels.” The graphic novels will also be sold as print editions on Amazon and comic book sellers. In October, the imprint will adapt “Meathouse Man,” a George R.R. Martin short story. Martin had this statement, in the release:

My fans have been clamoring for the return of Dunk & Egg ever since the graphic novels of “The Hedge Knight” and “The Sworn Sword” went out of print several years ago … so I am delighted to announce that Jet City Comics is bringing them back—newly formatted for digital readers, and in paper for those who still prefer the traditional formats. And Jet City will be bringing you something new as well: the graphic novel “Meathouse Man,” adapted from one of my strangest, darkest, and most twisted short stories by the amazingly talented Raya Golden. I’m pleased and excited to be a part of Jet City’s takeoff. May they fly high.

Read more

Neal Stephenson & Hugh Howey Join Amazon Worlds Program

Fans of Neal Stephenson, Hugh Howey, Barry Eisler and Blake Crouch can sell fan fiction on Amazon based on selected books from these writers’ work. In addition, comic book publisher Valiant Entertainment has also joined Amazon’s program.

Writers can visit this page to start writing for the Kindle Worlds program. Amazon revealed the program earlier this year, allowing authors to write fan fiction based on someone else’s work and share royalties with the rights holders. Here is the complete list of books in the program:

Amazon Publishing has secured licenses from Warner Bros. Television Group’s Alloy Entertainment for Gossip GirlPretty Little Liars, and The Vampire Diaries; Valiant Entertainment for Archer & ArmstrongBloodshotHarbingerShadowman, and X-O Manowar; Hugh Howey’s Silo Saga; Barry Eisler’s John Rain novels; Blake Crouch’s Wayward Pines series; and The Foreworld Saga by Neal Stephenson, Greg Bear, Mark Teppo, Eric Bear, Joseph Brassey, Nicole Galland, and Cooper Moo.

Read more

Self-Published Science Fiction Bestsellers for June 2013

Novelist A.G. Riddle stayed on our Science Fiction Self-Published Bestsellers list with The Atlantis Gene this month.

Our weekly self-published bestsellers list is often dominated by the popular genres of romance and erotica. In an effort to help GalleyCat readers find other kinds of independent authors, we will offer regular genre-focused bestseller lists for other kinds of indie writers.

To keep the list fresh, we’ve highlighted three top books from four different marketplaces.  If you want more resources as an author, try our Free Sites to Promote Your eBook post, How To Sell Your Self-Published Book in Bookstores post and our How to Pitch Your Book to Online Outlets post.

Read more

Writers Live Everywhere

Earlier this year, the Daily News and the Los Angeles Times were arguing about whether Los Angeles or New York City is the best place to be a writer.

This is a silly argument in the 21st Century in the middle of an economic downturn. Most writers can’t even afford to live in these cities anymore. We are all dedicated to one of the least lucrative careers in the world, and it is downright reckless to argue that we should live in two of the most expensive cities in the country.

After years writing for GalleyCat, I know this for certain: Writers live everywhere.

Read more

Hugh Howey Leads Self-Published Bestsellers List

Science fiction novelist Hugh Howey topped our Self Published Bestsellers List this week with two collections from his Wool series rising on Amazon.

To help GalleyCat readers discover self-published authors, we compile weekly lists of the top eBooks in four major marketplaces for self-published digital books: Amazon, B&N, Apple iBookstore and Smashwords. You can read all the lists below, complete with links to each book.

If you want more resources as an author, try our Free Sites to Promote Your eBook post, How To Sell Your Self-Published Book in Bookstores post and our How to Pitch Your Book to Online Outlets post.

If you are an independent author looking for support, check out our free directory of people looking for writers groups.

Read more

Self-Published Science Fiction Bestsellers for May 2013

Science fiction novelist Matthew Mather led our Science Fiction Self-Published Bestsellers list with CyberStorm this month (he also spoke at our course for indie authors).

Our weekly self-published bestsellers list is often dominated by the popular genres of romance and erotica. In an effort to help GalleyCat readers find other kinds of independent authors, we will offer regular genre-focused bestseller lists for other kinds of indie writers.

To keep the list fresh, we’ve highlighted three top books from four different marketplaces. If you are an author, check out our new online course–finish your book with the help of bestselling independent authors.

Read more

How Many Copies Make a Self-Published Bestseller?

GalleyCat readers constantly ask us: how many copies does it take to get on the Self Published Bestsellers List?

This is not an easy question to answer since all the major marketplaces for indie books carefully guard their sales figures. However, in Behind the Story: Interviews From 20 Self-Published Authors Who Made it BIG, author Denise Kim Wy managed to get sales figures from six different self-published authors.

We’ve included those sales figures below, complete with some quotes from the book. If you are an indie author and want to share how many copies you’ve sold, feel free to email GalleyCat a photograph to be included on this list.

Read more

Self-Published Science Fiction & Fantasy Bestsellers for April 2013

Author Marko Kloos led in our Science Fiction and Fantasy Self-Published Bestsellers list with Terms of Enlistment.

Our weekly self-published bestsellers list is often dominated by the popular genres of romance and erotica. In an effort to help GalleyCat readers find other kinds of independent authors, we will offer regular genre-focused bestseller lists for other kinds of indie writers.

To keep the list fresh, we’ve highlighted three top books from four different marketplaces. If you are an author, check out our new online course–finish your book with the help of bestselling independent authors.

Read more

NEXT PAGE >>