AllFacebook InsideFacebook InsideMobileApps InsideSocialGames SocialTimes LostRemote TVNewser TVSpy AgencySpy PRNewser MediaJobsDaily UnBeige

Rihanna Latest Twitter User To Reach 10 Million Followers As Ashton Drops Out Of The Top 10

R&B megastar Rihanna (@rihanna) has become the latest Twitter user to reach 10 million followers, passing the total on Saturday.

Rihanna joins Lady Gaga, Justin Bieber, President Barack Obama, Katy Perry, Kim Kardashian, Britney Spears and Shakira as the eighth human, sixth woman and fifth female musical artist to become a member of Twitter’s 10 million club.

It took Rihanna 27 days to accumulate her last million followers.

Taylor Swift should be the next person to reach the eight-figure mark, likely just before Christmas. Twitter’s most-followed members list continues to skew heavily towards female celebrities – eight of the top 10 are women.

Meanwhile, Ashton Kutcher, the first user to reach one million followers on Twitter, has dropped out of the network’s top 10 most-followed profiles, replaced by Selena Gomez. It’s the latest in a series of personal and Twitter-related blows for Kutcher, whose star has slowly dimmed on the network after shining very brightly a couple of years back. And his troubles aren’t over yet, as he faces fierce competition for his 11th placing from Ellen Degeneres and Oprah Winfrey, who should both pass him before the end of the year.

At the time of writing, Twitter’s top-ten most followed users are:

1. Lady Gaga (@ladygaga, 16,425,213)
2. Justin Bieber (@justinbieber, 14,901,452)
3. Katy Perry (@katyperry, 12,491,526)
4. Kim Kardashian (@kimkardashian, 11,563,052)
5. Britney Spears (@britneyspears, 11,388,800)
6. Barack Obama (@barackobama, 11,326,837)
7. Shakira (@shakira, 10,802,237)
8. Rihanna (@rihanna, 10,073,974)
9. Taylor Swift (@taylorswift13, 9,457,443)
10. Selena Gomez (@selenagomez, 8,603,871)

Mediabistro Course

Social Media 201

Social Media 201Starting October 13, Social Media 201 picks up where Social Media 101 left off, to provide you with hands-on instruction for gaining likes, followers, retweets, favorites, pins, and engagement. Social media experts will teach you how to make social media marketing work for your bottom line and achieving your business goals. Register now!