AllFacebook InsideFacebook InsideMobileApps InsideSocialGames SocialTimes LostRemote TVNewser TVSpy AgencySpy PRNewser MediaJobsDaily UnBeige

New Milestone For Twitter As @LadyGaga Becomes First User To Reach 25 Million Followers

Music megastar Lady Gaga has become the first Twitter user to reach 25 million followers on the network, passing the total late yesterday (Wednesday, May 30th).

Gaga was also the first Twitter user to reach 10, 15 and 20 million followers, and accumulated her latest million, whom she refers to as her Little Monsters, in 20 days.

All-told, it took Gaga just 88 days to move from 20 to 25 million followers.

At her current speed Gaga should have added another million to her tally by mid-to-late June, and is on track for 30 million followers by September 9, 2012.

Gaga has widened the gap between her and Twitter’s second-most popular user, Justin Bieber, and is now some 2.5 million ahead. Katy Perry recently joined Gaga and Bieber as the only users with more than 20 million followers.

At the time of writing, Twitter’s 20 most-popular profiles are:

  1. Lady Gaga (@ladygaga, 25,006,539 followers)
  2. Justin Bieber (@justinbieber, 22,575,046)
  3. Katy Perry (@katyperry, 20,422,224)
  4. Rihanna (@rihanna, 19,750,885)
  5. Britney Spears (@britneyspears, 17,200,709)
  6. Shakira (@shakira, 16,285,546)
  7. Barack Obama (@barackobama, 16,061,732)
  8. Kim Kardashian (@kimkardashian, 14,810,517)
  9. Taylor Swift (@taylorswift13, 14,537,336)
  10. YouTube (@YouTube, 13,137,996)
  11. Nicki Minaj (@nickiminaj, 12,244,940)
  12. Oprah Winfrey (@Oprah, 11,683,849)
  13. Selena Gomez (@selenagomez, 11,581,143)
  14. Justin Timberlake (@jtimberlake, 11,514,736)
  15. Ellen Degeneres (@theellenshow, 11,481,162)
  16. Eminem (@eminem, 10,908,444)
  17. Kaka (@kaka, 10,897,999)
  18. Ashton Kutcher (@aplusk, 10,813,209)
  19. Twitter (@twitter, 10,652,287)
  20. Cristiano Ronaldo (@cristiano, 10,074,179)

(Chart credit: Twitter Counter.)

Mediabistro Course

Twitter Tools for Marketing

Twitter Tools for MarketingWork with the formerly founding editor of AllTwitter to learn the tools and applications to maximize your impact! Starting December 3, Lauren Dugan will teach you how to manage your Tweet schedule using programs like TweetDeck and Hootsuite, search for people, trends, and content, and analyze your social growth and other important metrics. Register now!