TVSpy LostRemote AgencySpy PRNewser FishbowlNY FishbowlDC SocialTimes AllFacebook 10,000 Words GalleyCat UnBeige MediaJobsDaily

MSNBC to Air 100 Hours of Olympic Coverage; Chris Jansing, Lester Holt Anchor Olympics Update; Willie Geist Gets Up Even Earlier

Vancouver_2.9.jpgStarting tomorrow Willie Geist will broadcast his “Way Too Early” show even earlier from Vancouver as part of MSNBC’s coverage of the Winter Olympic games.

Geist will host the show at 2:30amPT giving the show a “late night feel.” Think Carson Daly, only colder. Geist will stay up for “Morning Joe” and contribute to other NBC News shows as well.

MSNBC will also air three live shows hosted by Lester Holt and Chris Jansing. The 90-minute Olympic update shows will air at 5:30pmET on Friday, Feb. 19, Thursday Feb. 25 and Friday, Feb. 26.

MSNBC will air 100 hours of Olympic coverage beginning Saturday including hockey, curling, speed skating and figure skating.

More in the press release after the jump…


“WAY TOO EARLY WITH WILLIE GEIST” LIVE FROM VANCOUVER

Geist To Broadcast Live From the Olympic Winter Games Starting February 10

MSNBC To Provide 100 Hours of Olympic Coverage and Live Updates During The Games

NEW YORK – February 9, 2010 – “Way Too Early with Willie Geist” (MSNBC weekdays 5:30-6:00 a.m ET) goes international starting Wednesday, February 10, broadcasting live from Vancouver, Canada for the 2010 Olympic Winter Games. MSNBC’s early morning show will have a late night feel as Geist hosts live at 2:30 a.m. local time, offering viewers all the latest news, politics, sports, and pop culture they need to start their day — or to end it in Vancouver. “Way Too Early” will originate from the International Broadcast Center (IBC) in Vancouver’s downtown waterfront area through February 26. Geist will also report for MSNBC’s “Morning Joe” and contribute to NBC News programs from Vancouver.

In addition to daily updates from the IBC, MSNBC will present three live shows hosted by Willie Geist and NBC News’ Lester Holt and Chris Jansing. The 90-minute Olympic update shows will air February 19 at 5:30 p.m. ET/ 2:30 p.m. PT, February 25 at 4:30 p.m. ET/ 1:30 p.m. PT, and February 26 at 5:30 p.m. ET/ 2:30 p.m. PT. MSNBC will also air special live coverage on February 20 from 5:30-7:30 p.m. ET/ 2:30-4:30 p.m. PT and February 21 from 3:00-7:00 p.m. ET/ 1:00-4:00 p.m. PT.

MSNBC, available in 91.6 million homes in the U.S., will provide 100 hours of Olympic coverage from Vancouver highlighted by live quarterfinal, semifinal and medal round hockey competition. MSNBC’s hockey coverage also features the much-anticipated USA vs. Canada men’s hockey game. MSNBC will also provide extensive live curling coverage, including medal round games, in addition to live speed skating and figure skating. MSNBC begins coverage on Saturday, Feb. 13. NBC Universal will present more than 835 hours of Vancouver Olympic Winter Games coverage – representing the most total hours ever for a Winter Olympics, more than the last two Winter Olympics combined, and the most live hours ever for a Winter Games. The Vancouver Olympic Winter Games, which will be the first Winter Olympics to be presented entirely in high definition, commence with the Opening Ceremony on Friday, Feb. 12.

Mediabistro Course

Podcasting

PodcastingLearn to develop, create, and launch your own podcast! Starting October 23, Steve Belaner, the host of the weekly podcast The Gamut, will teach you how to determine the goals of your podcast, perfect your concept, contact and book guests, market your podcast, and get your show up and running in just a few weeks. Register now!