AllFacebook InsideFacebook InsideMobileApps InsideSocialGames SocialTimes LostRemote TVNewser TVSpy AgencySpy PRNewser MediaJobsDaily UnBeige

Dick Costolo Named To President’s Telecommunications Advisory Committee

President Obama has named Twitter’s CEO Dick Costolo as a member of the President’s National Security Telecommunications Advisory Committee.

The National Security Telecommunications Advisory Committee advises the President on issues of national security and emergency preparedness pertaining to telecommunications services. It has been advising the president in this capacity for over 25 years, and has traditionally included up to 30 heads of industry from “major telecommunications companies, network service providers, information technology, finance, and aerospace companies.”

The White House announced Costolo’s appointment as a member of the committee late Thursday. He joins Scott Charney, Microsoft’s Corporate Vice President for Trustworthy Computing; David G. DeWalt, President and CEO of McAfee; Jamie Dos Santos, CEO of Terremark Worldwide; and Lisa A. Hook, CEO of NeuStar as the newest members of the committee.

President Obama has this to say about the appointment of Costolo and the other tech leaders to the committee:

“I am proud to appoint such impressive men and women to these important roles, and I am grateful they have agreed to lend their considerable talents to this Administration. I look forward to working with them in the months and years ahead.”

Dick Costolo will add this position to a long list of positions that he currently holds in addition to being Twitter’s CEO, including an advisor at LaunchBox Digital and a mentor at TechStars, LLC.

Mediabistro Course

Social Media 101

Social Media 101Get hands-on social media training for beginners in our online boot camp, Social Media 101! Starting September 4, social media and marketing experts will help you determine the social media sites that matter most to you, based on your personal and professional goals. Hurry, this boot camp starts next weekRegister now!