FishbowlNY FishbowlDC LostRemote InsideMobileApps InsideSocialGames TVNewser TVSpy AgencySpy PRNewser MediaJobsDaily UnBeige

Maryann Yin

Oyster Adds 1,000 Bloomsbury Books to its Library

BloomsburyOyster now carries more than 1,000 books from Bloomsbury.

Subscribers to this service can access the eBook editions of Salvage the Bones by Jesmyn WardKitchen Confidential by Anthony Bourdain, and Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas. The full Oyster library contains a selection of more than 500,000 titles.

Here’s more from the Oyster blog: “There’s a lot to choose from, so we’ve selected some more of our favorites to feature in today’s Spotlight. We’re excited to partner with such an incredible publisher to make these titles available to our readers and make our library better than ever.”

NYPL Develops Holiday Book List Generator

NYPL Holiday LionHaving a hard time picking a book to enjoy during your holiday down time? The New York Public Library (NYPL) has developed a holiday book list generator. According to the NYPL Facebook page, the staff has created several book lists in a wide variety of subjects: Architecture, Cooking, Dance, Gardening, Music, Photography, Sports, Theater, Travel, and Wine. Follow this link to check it out.

Diane Guerrero Inks Memoir Deal

Diane GuerreroDiane Guerrero, an actress who has appeared on the Orange is the New Black Netflix series, has landed a memoir deal.

Henry Holt and Company has scheduled publication for In The Country We Love to take place in early 2016. Senior editor Serena Jones acquired the manuscript.

According to the press release, Guerroro (pictured, via) talked about the “heartbreaking story of her family’s nightmarish struggles as undocumented residents seeking citizenship—but ultimately deported—in the United States” publicly in a L.A. Times op-ed. She will share more details about this ordeal in her book. Michelle Burford, a writer who has written biographies about Olympic gymnast Gabby Douglas and singer Toni Braxton, will serve as the co-author for this project.

Robert Atkins Signs On as Guest Artist For the America’s Army Comic Series

America's ArmyRobert Atkins will serve as the guest artist for four issues of the America’s Army comic series. In the past, Atkins has worked on the GI JOE comic series.

Here’s more from the press release: “The America’s Army comic series provides an inside perspective into the world of Soldiers in the U.S. Army, their jobs and the challenges they face. Based on the highly successful PC game, the America’s Army comic follows American forces deployed to the small nation of Czervenia where President-General Kazimir Adzic and his advanced army launch a genocidal war against the neighboring country of the RDO, setting in motion a mysterious plan that could change the course of world power.”

IDW Publishing recently released the twelfth installment of this series. Atkins’ artwork will be featured starting in the thirteenth issue. Follow this link to access these free digital comic books from the United States Army.

Legendary Pictures Picks Up Movie Rights For The Damned

DamnedLegendary Pictures has optioned the movie rights for Andrew Pyper’s The Damned.

Deadline reports that the book is “an elevated supernatural thriller in the vein of The Sixth Sense or Jacob’s Ladder.” The story follows a writer named Danny Orchard who is haunted by the ghost of his psychopath twin sister.

Simon & Schuster will release this novel on February 10, 2015. Alex Hedlund and Tracy Stevens, two executives at the film production company, will oversee the development of this film adaptation.

Larry King Performs a ‘Farewell Poem’ For Craig Ferguson

Craig Ferguson will be leaving The Late, Late Show on December 19th. In honor of Ferguson’s departure, Larry King read a “farewell poem” during his appearance. The video embedded above features King’s full performance—what do you think?

J.K. Rowling Confirms That a Jewish Wizard Has Attended Hogwarts

Has Hogwarts School of Witchcraft & Wizardry ever admitted a Jewish student? Yesterday, J.K. Rowling confirmed that the answer is “yes.”

In response to a fan’s message on Twitter, the Harry Potter series author revealed that a Jewish wizard named Anthony Goldstein belonged to Ravenclaw house. We’ve embedded the tweets above—what do you think?

In addition to coming to her fans rescue via social media, Rowling has been a busy bee with adding new content on Pottermore. For the past few days, several new details about Potions Master Severus Snape has been unveiled. (via BuzzFeed)

SPOILER ALERT: If you don’t want to know more, you should stop reading now!

Read more

Ruby Barnhill Cast as Sophie in The BFG Movie

Roald Dahl BFGRuby Barnhill, a newcomer English actress, will play Sophie in The BFG. This project marks the first time Barnhill will take on a feature part.

Steven Spielberg will take the helm of this Roald Dahl film adaptation as the director. Mark Rylance, a British theatre actor, has been cast in the titular role.

Here’s more from Deadline: “Published in 1982, The BFG is the story of a young London girl and the world’s only benevolent giant who introduces her to the beauty and peril of Giant Country. The two set off on an adventure (with the aid of the Queen of England) to capture the evil, man-eating giants who have been invading the human world. Spielberg is beginning production early in the New Year and Disney releases on July 1, 2016 in the U.S. EOne will bring it to the UK on July 22, 2016.”

NYPL Hosts the ‘Public Eye’ Photo Exhibit

NYPL 42nd StThe New York Public Library (NYPL) is hosting the “Public Eye: 175 Years of Sharing Photography” exhibition at the Stephen A. Schwarzman Building.

Here’s more from the NYPL website: “Ranging from photography’s official announcement in 1839 to manifestations of its current pervasiveness, this landmark exhibition, drawn entirely from the Library’s collections, explores the various ways in which photography has been shared and made public. Photography has always been social.”

This project marks the first time that the NYPL curator team has organized a retrospective survey of photography. According to the NYPL blog, one of the pieces being displayed is a photographic locket of Mr. and Mrs. General Tom Thumb. The closing date has been scheduled for September 04, 2015.

The Pop Up Art Book Featured On Kickstarter

Poposition Press hopes to raise $15,000 on Kickstarter for The Pop Up Art Book. This project features 3-D renditions of comic, pop, and street art pieces created by six artists.

The funds will be used to cover the production costs. We’ve embedded a video about the project above; learn more from the Kickstarter page:

“The idea behind this group book is to represent a wide range of contemporary art styles in an exciting new pop up format, and our ultimate goal is to get this book in as many of your hands as possible. After creating and self-publishing our first book, Pop Up Funk with artist Jim Mahfood in 2013, we reached out to other artists with the same simple concept: to take their art apart and then re-construct it as a three-dimensional pop-up spread.”

Read more

<< PREVIOUS PAGENEXT PAGE >>