FishbowlNY FishbowlDC LostRemote InsideMobileApps InsideSocialGames TVNewser TVSpy AgencySpy PRNewser MediaJobsDaily UnBeige

Posts Tagged ‘Andrew Pyper’

Legendary Pictures Picks Up Movie Rights For The Damned

DamnedLegendary Pictures has optioned the movie rights for Andrew Pyper’s The Damned.

Deadline reports that the book is “an elevated supernatural thriller in the vein of The Sixth Sense or Jacob’s Ladder.” The story follows a writer named Danny Orchard who is haunted by the ghost of his psychopath twin sister.

Simon & Schuster will release this novel on February 10, 2015. Alex Hedlund and Tracy Stevens, two executives at the film production company, will oversee the development of this film adaptation.

Mediabistro Course

Memoir Writing

Memoir WritingStarting January 7, work with a published memoir writer to tell and sell the story of your life! In this course, Wendy Dale will teach you how to create your story around a marketable premise, hone your narrative voice, write a memoir with a solid structure, and sell your memoir before you've even finished writing it. Register now!

2014 ITW Thriller Award Winners Unveiled

itw logoThe International Thriller Writers (ITW) have unveiled the winners of the 2014 ITW Thriller Awards. Check out the full list of winners below. Follow this link to view photos from the banquet celebration.

Read more

5 Tips on How To Write Smart Thrillers

A ThrillerFest panel last week tackled this question: “Can a thriller be both exciting and smart?” Participants included authors Linwood Barclay, Joseph Finder, Kathleen George, Andrew Gross, Andrew Pyper and Matt Richtel. David Liss moderated the panel.

During the discussion, the participants picked Dennis LeHane‘s Shutter Island, Joseph Conrad‘s Heart of Darkness, and William Landay‘s upcoming Defending Jacob as their favorite smart thrillers.

Below, we’ve included five tips for writing smart thrillers from the discussion.

Read more