Hear what freelancers and the employers who hire them have to say.
Send us your stories.

Freelance Marketplace Forum 17 topics
Acento enfático agencia de diseño contratación (2) 5/13/2014
Returning to work as freelance proofreader (1) 5/1/2014
more... - post new topic

Have a question?
Read our FAQs or contact us by email or at 212-547-7934
  Michael Berick
Professional/Personal Overview
  From under-the-radar bands to over-the-top family entertainment, hip dining to free events, they are all among the pop culture topics that I write about. My work has appeared in the L.A. Times, San Francisco Chronicle, Entertainment Weekly and the LA Weekly. As LA Parent Magazine calendar editor, I write the monthly event listings and spotlight articles as well as being a NAPPA judge for childrens music. I worked on metadata writing for the recently launched Saturday Night Live app. I was a regular contributor to City's Best Los Angeles and a columnist for No Depression Magazine. My experiences also includes penning press bios, writing liner notes, creating catalog content, doing research projects and working as a script analyst.
Work Info
Researcher 2 Years
Writer 10 Years
Copy Editor 5 Years
Family, Children & Teenagers 3 Years
Music 10 Years
Entertainment 10 Years
Total Media Industry Experience
20 Years
Media Client List (# assignments last 2 yrs)
LA Parent Magazine (11+), Blurt (3-5), Parenting OC (3-5), Relix Magazine (1-2), Travel Age West (1-2), American Songwriter magazine (1-2), M: Music And Musicians magazine (1-2)
Corporate Client List (# assignments last 2 yrs)
NBC Universal (1-2), Tool of North America (1-2)
Other Work History
I was a freelance film script analyst with a number production companies for a decade.
Computer Skills
Word, OS X, Wordpress, Metadata
I have a MacBook Pro laptop, an iPad, an iPhone and an audio recorder
I have an MFA in Film History/Theory/Criticism from Columbia University and a BA in History from Kenyon College.
Freelancer Availability
I freelance full-time. I live near Los Angeles, CA. I am willing to travel locally. I have a driver's license. I have access to a car.