FishbowlNY FishbowlDC LostRemote InsideMobileApps InsideSocialGames TVNewser TVSpy AgencySpy PRNewser MediaJobsDaily UnBeige

Neil Gaiman Wins Newbery Medal

details_Graveyard.jpgToday the American Library Association announced the winners of their prestigious 2009 Youth Media Awards. Novelist and graphic novelist Neil Gaiman won the John Newbery Medal for his tome, The Graveyard Book, which was illustrated by Dave McKean.

Author Susan Marie Swanson and illustrator Beth Krommes won the Randolph Caldecott Medal for picture books for the book, The House in the Night.

Melina Marchetta won the Michael L. Printz Award (for young adult literature) for the book, Jellicoe Road. Finally, Kadir Nelson won the Coretta Scott King Award for a book written by an African American with We Are the Ship: The Story of Negro League Baseball.

More from MSBC’s report: “In addition, the ALA celebrated the 40th anniversary of the Coretta Scott King Book Awards and introduced a new award, the William C. Morris Award. It is also the first year that the Pura Belpre Award will be given annually.”

Mediabistro Course

Memoir Writing

Memoir WritingStarting January 7, work with a published memoir writer to tell and sell the story of your life! In this course, Wendy Dale will teach you how to create your story around a marketable premise, hone your narrative voice, write a memoir with a solid structure, and sell your memoir before you've even finished writing it. Register now!