FishbowlNY FishbowlDC LostRemote InsideMobileApps InsideSocialGames TVNewser TVSpy AgencySpy PRNewser MediaJobsDaily UnBeige

Posts Tagged ‘J.R.R. Tolkien’

Lord of the Rings Trilogy Unabridged Audiobook is 54 Hours Long

An unabridged audiobook version of J.R.R. Tolkien‘s Lord of the Rings trilogy will be distributed by Audible, a set that clocks a staggering 54 hours and nine minutes of listening time.

The series is published by Recorded Books and read by Rob Inglis, the actor who also narrated audiobooks for Ursula K. Le Guin‘s The Earthsea Cycle. Inglis also narrated the unabridged audiobook for Tolkien’s The Hobbit, an 11-hour listening experience.

Here’s more from the release: “Each of these audiobooks is also Whispersync for Voice-ready, which means that if you buy or already own the Kindle version of The Hobbit, The Fellowship of the Ring, The Two Towers or The Return of the King, you can now effortlessly switch back and forth between reading and listening to the series that has captivated millions of readers and moviegoers—without losing your place.”

Read more

J.R.R. Tolkien’s Previously Unpublished ‘The Fall of Arthur’ Coming Next Year

HarperCollins’ UK division will publish J.R.R. Tolkien‘s previously unpublished epic poem, “The Fall of Arthur.” In this work, Tolkien imagines how the legendary King Arthur spent the last days of his life.

Tolkien’s son, Christopher Tolkien, edited the poem and wrote three essays about the literary world of King Arthur for this book. According to Examiner.com, this title will be published in May 2013.

The Guardian has more: “Running to more than 200 pages, Tolkien’s story was inspired by Geoffrey of Monmouth and Thomas Malory‘s tales of King Arthur, and is told in narrative verse. Set in the last days of Arthur’s reign, the poem sees Tolkien tackling the old king’s battle to save his country from Mordred the usurper, opening as Arthur and Gawain go to war.”

Read more

Hobbit Trailer Lets You Choose the Ending

The new trailer for The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey has been released.

If you visit the movie website, you can actually create your own version of the trailer to share with other fantasy fans on Twitter, Facebook, Pinterest, Tumblr or Google+. Using some extra footage, you can create a trailer ending that features Gollum, Gandalf, Bilbo or Sting or dwarves.

In July, director Peter Jackson revealed today that his adaptation of J. R. R. Tolkien‘s single book will be a trilogy. Do you think there is enough material to sustain three films?

What If Classic Novels Had 8-Bit Covers?

Over at Slacktory, artist Oliver Miller has created 8-bit covers for famous books, turning classic novels into pixel-paintings that look like video games from the 1980s.

We’ve embedded Miller’s cover for J.R.R. Tolkien‘s The Two Towers above, what do you think about his computerized take on the fantasy novel? The image above built upon Wizard by Radpants at Make Pixel Art and Towers by Mildtoast at Make Pixel Art. If you like his 8-bit art, Miller also illustrated the first lines of some famous short stories.

Here’s more from the artist: “I selected the novels above, not as a list of the Greatest Novels of All Time, or as a list of My Favorite Novels of All Time, but because they were (mostly) books that I love whose covers I knew how to illustrate. Full confession: I have not read An American Tragedy, and I think that Theodore Dreiser is a boring writer. I just liked the title. And I started reading Moby-Dick (“Call me Ishmael”) and Gravity’s Rainbow (“A screaming comes across the sky”) but I did not finish reading them. Someday I will finish reading them. I read all the others.” (Via Rachel Fershleiser)

Read more

Peter Jackson Makes The Hobbit a Trilogy

Oscar-winning director Peter Jackson revealed today that his adaptation of J. R. R. Tolkien‘s The Hobbit adaptation will be a trilogy.

Here’s more from the director:

We were really pleased with the way the story was coming together, in particular, the strength of the characters and the cast who have brought them to life.  All of which gave rise to a simple question: do we take this chance to tell more of the tale? And the answer from our perspective as the filmmakers, and as fans, was an unreserved ‘yes.’  We know how much of the story of Bilbo Baggins, the Wizard Gandalf, the Dwarves of Erebor, the rise of the Necromancer, and the Battle of Dol Guldur will remain untold if we do not take this chance.

Read more

Free Customized ‘Go Away, I’m Reading’ Book Covers

Wish you could tune out the world while reading your favorite book? The free “Go Away, I’m Reading” book covers will send a blunt message, customized for your book.

Erin Bowman, Sarah Enni and Traci Neithercott created the simple but inspiring dust jackets pictured above–what cover will you pick?

They have built “Climbing Mount Doom” for fans of J. R. R. Tolkien‘s Lord of the Rings trilogy,  “In Narnia BRB” for readers of C. S. LewisThe Chronicles of Narnia, “At Hogwarts” for aficionados of J.K. Rowling‘s Harry Potter series, “In Forks, Send Help” for fans of Stephenie Meyer‘s Twilight series and finally, “In the Arena, BRB” for readers of Suzanne CollinsHunger Games series.

Here’s more about printing: “These covers will fit the traditionally-sized YA book. Take the PDFs to your local FedEx or Staples and get them printed on tabloid paper (11x17in). We suggest a matte cardstock (you could print on something glossy, but sometimes that causes light glares at certain angles and you want people to be able to read that Go Away message without incident). Choose a weight between 60-80lb for the paper. Anything lighter and the page will be too thin, anything heavier and folding it around your book will be difficult.”

Read more

‘The Hobbit’ Trailer Released

Warner Bros. Pictures has released the first trailer for The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey. We’ve embedded the trailer in the video above–what do you think?

This J.R.R. Tolkien film adaptation is the first of a two-part series directed by Peter Jackson. So far, Jackson has posted four videos from the New Zealand set of The Hobbit on his Facebook page. More than 16,000 fans have hit “like” on Facebook upon the trailer’s release ten hours ago.

Here’s more from the video description: “[The film] follows title character Bilbo Baggins, who is swept into an epic quest to reclaim the lost Dwarf Kingdom of Erebor, which was long ago conquered by the dragon Smaug. Approached out of the blue by the wizard Gandalf the Grey, Bilbo finds himself joining a company of thirteen dwarves led by the legendary warrior, Thorin Oakensheild. Their journey will take them into the Wild; through treacherous lands swarming with Goblins and Orcs, deadly Wargs and Giant Spiders, Shapeshifters and Sorcerers.”

Playing with Famous Author Dolls

Over at UneekDollDesigns, artist Debbie Ritter sells handmade dolls of famous authors and celebrated literary characters.

The collection includes the trio of ghosts who haunt Ebenezer Scrooge. Ritter has also created dolls of Jane Eyre from Charlotte Bronte‘s famous novel and Mrs. Haversham from Dickens’ Great Expectations.

Beatrix Potter and Peter Rabbit come as a matching set. Flavorpill made a list of other dolls, including Shel Silverstein, J.R.R. Tolkien and Joyce Carol Oates. Above, we’ve embedded a Mark Twain doll. What’s your favorite?

What Did J.R.R. Tolkien Read?

Can’t get enough of Lord of the Rings or The Hobbit? If you’ve exhausted your Tolkien collection, don’t despair. The Book Lady’s blog has put together a great list of books that influenced J.R.R. Tolkien.

The list includes classics like Beowulf, A Voyage to Arcturus and Lord Dunsany’s The Book of Wonder. What are your favorite books on the list?

Here is more from the blog: “Lord Dunsany was a prolific fantasy short story writer (primarily) who wrote around the turn of the 20th Century. Tolkien mentions Dunsany’s works many times in his collected letters. In one letter he talks about Dunsany’s fantasy character-naming abilities and later in life Tolkien writes fondly about Dunsany’s ‘Chu-Bu and Sheemish’ story. Tolkien also once presented a scholar, Clyde S. Kilby with a copy of The Book of Wonder to help prepare him for his role working on Tolkien’s The Silmarillion (The Lord of the Rings ‘back story’ or ‘Legendarium’ Tolkien wrote over the course of his whole life).”

 

Children’s Author Brian Jacques Has Died

Beloved children’s author Brian Jacques (pictured, via) passed away this week at 71-years-old. He wrote chapter novels, picture books, and short story collections during his long career.

According to BBC News, the author sold more than 20 million books internationally. Jacques is best-known for his Redwall fantasy series. Before Jacques died, 21 chapter books, three picture books, a graphic novel adaptation, and an opera were all published about the Redwall series.  In June 2010, the author’s blog announced that the 22nd book in the series will be published this year.

Here’s more from BBC News: “Some critics compared [Jacques' books] to J.R.R. Tolkien‘s Lord Of The Rings and Watership Down by Richard Adams. Even as a child he showed literary talent. He was caned by a teacher who could not believe that a 10-year-old could write so well when he penned a short story about a bird who cleaned a crocodile’s teeth.”

<< PREVIOUS PAGENEXT PAGE >>