InsideMobileApps InsideSocialGames 10,000 Words FishbowlNY FishbowlDC LostRemote TVNewser TVSpy AgencySpy PRNewser MediaJobsDaily UnBeige

Posts Tagged ‘Neal Stephenson’

George R.R. Martin Adaptation Opens New Amazon Comic Imprint

Amazon has launched its own comic book imprint called Jet City, adapting stories by George R.R. MartinHugh Howey and Neal Stephenson.

The comics will be released in Kindle editions “as standalone comics, as serialized comics released over multiple episodes, and as bundled graphic novels.” The graphic novels will also be sold as print editions on Amazon and comic book sellers. In October, the imprint will adapt “Meathouse Man,” a George R.R. Martin short story. Martin had this statement, in the release:

My fans have been clamoring for the return of Dunk & Egg ever since the graphic novels of “The Hedge Knight” and “The Sworn Sword” went out of print several years ago … so I am delighted to announce that Jet City Comics is bringing them back—newly formatted for digital readers, and in paper for those who still prefer the traditional formats. And Jet City will be bringing you something new as well: the graphic novel “Meathouse Man,” adapted from one of my strangest, darkest, and most twisted short stories by the amazingly talented Raya Golden. I’m pleased and excited to be a part of Jet City’s takeoff. May they fly high.

Read more

Mediabistro Course

Women's Magazine Writing

Women's Magazine WritingPitch and publish in women's magazines with the health director of Family Circle! Starting September 30, Lynya Floyd will teach you how to wow editors with stories they want and need for their publications. You'll learn how to workshop pitch letters to endure editors will read them, master the voice and tone of women's magazines, find sources, and connect with other writers in the industry. Register now!

Neal Stephenson & Hugh Howey Join Amazon Worlds Program

Fans of Neal Stephenson, Hugh Howey, Barry Eisler and Blake Crouch can sell fan fiction on Amazon based on selected books from these writers’ work. In addition, comic book publisher Valiant Entertainment has also joined Amazon’s program.

Writers can visit this page to start writing for the Kindle Worlds program. Amazon revealed the program earlier this year, allowing authors to write fan fiction based on someone else’s work and share royalties with the rights holders. Here is the complete list of books in the program:

Amazon Publishing has secured licenses from Warner Bros. Television Group’s Alloy Entertainment for Gossip GirlPretty Little Liars, and The Vampire Diaries; Valiant Entertainment for Archer & ArmstrongBloodshotHarbingerShadowman, and X-O Manowar; Hugh Howey’s Silo Saga; Barry Eisler’s John Rain novels; Blake Crouch’s Wayward Pines series; and The Foreworld Saga by Neal Stephenson, Greg Bear, Mark Teppo, Eric Bear, Joseph Brassey, Nicole Galland, and Cooper Moo.

Read more

Andrea Cremer, Marcus Samuelsson & Franklin Park Get Booked

Here are some literary events to jump-start your week. To get your event posted on our calendar, visit our Facebook Your Literary Event page. Please post your event at least one week prior to its date.

Books of Wonder will host the launch party for Andrea Cremer‘s Rift. Join her on Tuesday, August 7th from 6 p.m. to 8 p.m. (New York, NY)

Chef Marcus Samuelsson will appear at a conversation event with food writer Amanda Hesser. See them on Wednesday, August 8th at The Strand starting 7 p.m. (New York, NY)

Read more

Mongoliad Authors in Google+ Hangout

On the Sword & Laser book club this week, hosts Veronica Belmont and Tom Merritt interviewed nearly all of the c0-authors of the epic book, The Mongoliad. Novelist Neal Stephenson joined the interview while working out on his treadmill.

Check it out: “Tom and Veronica sat down with 6 of the 7 authors of the Mongoliad, including Erik Bear, Joseph Brassey, E.D deBirmingham, Cooper Moo, Neal Stephenson, and Mark Teppo.”

The used Google+ Hangouts (video embedded above) to host and record the interview. Find out more about the new tool in our AppNewser feature: How to record & share video interviews on Google+.

Neal Stephenson Stars in Book Trailer about the Inherent Silliness of Book Trailers

Amazon Publishing’s 47 North imprint has released a book trailer for The Mongoliad: Book One, the first installment in a group-written novel headlined by Neal Stephenson and Greg Bear.

Instead of making a Hollywood version of the book or hiring actors, the video actually reflects on the inherent silliness of making a book trailer in the first place. It ends with the tagline: “Some books are so good, a trailer just seems Medieval.”

Here’s more about the book: “The Foreworld medieval adventure saga was actually born out of swordfighting. Stephenson and the other authors are avid practitioners of Western martial arts and they are part of an enthusiastic study group in Seattle. Stephenson realized that the descriptions of swordfighting in his novels would have been much better with contributions from people with fighting expertise. Thus the idea for a saga about the complex, bloody history of Western martial arts was born, co-written by Neal Stephenson, Greg Bear, Mark Teppo, E.D. deBirmingham, Joseph Brassey, Erik Bear, and Cooper Moo.” (Via Reddit Lit Video)

How Should Publishers Respond to eBook Errors?

Today Amazon wirelessly replaced the eBook version of Neal Stephenson‘s Reamde after readers found errors in the $16.99 eBook.

One customer called for a 75 percent refund: “this level of carelessness is inexcusable on economic grounds. I’d expect to find format errors and mangled content in a pirated ebook, not in a $17 Kindle edition. When I purchase an ebook at a price point so close to the print version, the publisher rakes in far more profit than from a print title. To then turn around and offer shoddy, incomplete text in that pricey Kindle title shows an arrogant disregard for economics, the reader, and the distribution channel.”

The Awl reprinted Amazon’s emailed response, explaining how to update your copy of the book. How do you think publishers should respond to errors in new eBooks?

Read more

Amazon Books Editors Pick Top 10 Fall Releases

The Amazon books editors unveiled their top ten picks of the biggest releases coming out this fall.

Senior editor Chris Schluep had this statement: “This is one of the best seasons for literary novels to come along in several years … We’ve highlighted Murakami and Eugenides in our Amazon Editors’ Top 10, as well as three of the finest debuts–by Amy Waldman, Erin Morgenstern, and Chad Harbach–to come across our desks in a long time.”

We’ve listed all the books below–what books are you looking forward to this fall?

Read more

Arthur C. Clarke Award Winner Announced

song_large.jpgNovelist Ian R. MacLeod has won the Arthur C. Clarke Award for Science Fiction. His novel, “Song of Time,” took the £2,009 award for England’s prestigious literary prize.

According to the Guardian, the shortlist included “Anathem” by Neal Stephenson and “Martin Martin’s On the Other Side” by Mark Wernham. In other award news, Ursula K. Le Guin recently won her sixth Nebula Award.

Arthur C. Clarke Award judicial chair Paul Billinger explained the choice: “This was a very strong shortlist and it was a particularly intense and long shortlist meeting this year … What swung it in the end [for "Song of Time"] was the emotion, the feeling from it–and the characterisation.”

Picture of the Day: Marcus Sakey

0711081115.jpgWhile Marcus Sakey was in town last week to accept the Strand Magazine Critics Award for best first novel, The Blade Itself he dropped by the offices at Dutton to sign copies of his third book, Good People. It’s always funny to see the reactions of authors to giant piles of their book, especially when they have to sign them. I’ve seen Stephen King give a shrug like “this is nothing” when he stopped by Houghton Mifflin to sign 300 copies of The Best American Short Stories, I’ve witnessed the look in Neal Stephenson’s eye that said “you’ve got to be kidding me” in the Avon offices when he saw the 1000 copies of Cryptonomicon stacked five feet high and eight feet deep on the table in front of him, but Sakey’s love of his new book has got to take the cake.