TVSpy LostRemote AgencySpy PRNewser FishbowlNY FishbowlDC SocialTimes AllFacebook GalleyCat UnBeige MediaJobsDaily

Posts Tagged ‘Ken Burns’

Turner Sports To Operate NCAA Digital Properties

Turner Sports has signed a 14-year deal with the NCAA to operate the digital properties for

Turner plans to re-launch during the first quarter of 2011 with a focus on increased original programming, enhanced selection shows and live video for all 88 NCAA Championship tournaments across 23 sports. The deal also includes March Madness On Demand.

“Turner Sports is a perfect fit to manage the NCAA’s digital assets,” said Greg Shaheen, NCAA interim executive vice president for championships and business strategies. “The agreement will enable Turner and the NCAA to enhance the coverage of all 88 NCAA championships across multiple digital platforms. NCAA Digital will provide fans, student-athletes and their families with reliable, in-depth resources to engage with NCAA championship events both live and on demand.”

Earlier this year, Turner and CBS won a 14-year, $10.8 billion deal to broadcast the NCAA men’s basketball tournament. Turner Sports and the NCAA first discussed digital rights during negotiations for a new college basketball deal.

Read more

Barbara Walters to Receive Lifetime Achievement Award

Walters_2.17.jpgVariety reports that the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences will be presenting Barbara Walters with its Lifetime Achievement Award at the 30th News and Documentary Emmy Awards. The “20/20″ anchor and EP/co-host of “The View” will receive the award at the ceremony on September 21st.

Since joining the “Today” staff in 1961, Walters has become a TV news icon over her long career, helping to break ground for female journalists and conducting high-profile interviews with major public figures.

Former recipients of the award include: Tom Brokaw, Sheila Nevins of HBO, Bill Moyers, Ted Koppel, Ken Burns, Tim Russert and Bob Schieffer.

Katie Couric Among 2009 “Giants Of Broadcasting”

KC.jpgKatie Couric has been named one of the 2009 “Giants of Broadcasting” by the Library of American Broadcasting.

The seventh annual Giants awards ceremony is scheduled to be held October 1 in New York, with Charles Osgood as master of ceremonies.

Among the other honorees:
• Outgoing RTNDA president Barbara Cochran
• Documentarian Ken Burns
• Dr. Woo Paik, often called the “Father of HDTV”
• Westwood One founder/chairman Norman J. Pattiz
• Television Bureau of Advertising president Chris Rohrs

Posthumous awards go to Bea Arthur and Ed McMahon. The Library of American Broadcasting website describes LAB as a “national information resource serving the radio and television industries” as well as “academic communities”.

60 Minutes Wins Three Emmys, PBS Wins 10

emmy_9-23.jpgCBS’ 60 Minutes won more awards than any other program last night at the 29th annual News and Documentary Emmys ceremony. The network with the most awards was PBS, which won 10.

CBS won five total awards — CBS Sunday Morning won the other two. ABC won four awards, with two going to World News with Charles Gibson and two going to 20/20.

NBC took home two awards for segments on the Nightly News with Brian Williams. HDNet also won an Emmy.

Lifetime Achievement Awards were presented to Ken Burns, Bob Schieffer and Tim Russert. Also honored with tributes — Jim McKay, William F. Buckley and Tony Snow.

Related: The Los Angeles Times’ Matea Gold writes about the ceremony, and quotes Williams about Russert. “Try getting through an election season without Tim,” he said last night. “He is what’s missing from our current campaign debate, our current national conversation.”

Lifetime Achievement for Producer Who Has “Too Much Stuff” Left To Do

Gail Shister
TVNewser Columnist

Burns_7.27.jpgWith a face young enough for a milk carton, how does Ken Burns qualify for a Lifetime Achievement Award?

That’s exactly what he thought when he was chosen to receive the accolade at the 29th annual News and Documentary Emmy Awards in September.

PBS’s prolific poster boy turned 55 last Tuesday. CBS veteran Bob Schieffer, 71, and NBC’s Tim Russert, who died June 13 at age 58, will also be honored.

“I was tremendously surprised,” says the acclaimed documentary filmmaker (“The War.”) “I thought, ‘You’re too young to get a lifetime achievement award.’ Especially someone who feels younger than the 55 years I am.”

It hit Burns even harder a few years ago, when he was similarly honored by the International Documentary Association.

“I was a little bit under water as to why it was happening,” he says. “I have too much stuff I’ve got to do!”

With Burns, that’s saying something. His latest PBS contract runs through 2025, marking an astounding 48 years with the public network.

His latest opus, on the history of national parks, will debut in September ’09. It clocks in at 12 hours. “The 10th Inning,” an update to his 18-hour epic “Baseball” (’94), is set for ’10, followed by “Forbidden Fruit: Prohibition in America” in ’10 or ’11.

Burns, who doesn’t see himself as a journalist, says historians and journalists share “an incredibly important link.” Many journalists have turned out to be good historians, and vice versa, he says.

It’s all about perspective.

Read more

Schieffer, Russert To Receive Lifetime Achievement Honor

CBS News chief Washington correspondent Bob Schieffer and the late NBC News Washington bureau chief and moderator of Meet The Press Tim Russert will receive Lifetime Achievement honors at the 29th Annual News and Documentary Emmy Awards in September.

“Bob Schieffer has given CBS News more than 30 years of high quality reporting and anchoring and has won the admiration of both his fellow professionals and the American public,” said Bill Small, Chairman of the News and Documentary Awards. “He is a role model for any aspiring journalist.

“I am especially pleased that we are paying tribute to Tim Russert,” said Peter Price, President and CEO of NATAS. “Tim was the supreme example of a dedicated newsman, admired by his host of friends at NBC and elsewhere for his work ethic, his dedication to first class journalism, and his love of family. He was truly special.”

Documentarian Ken Burns will also be honored with the Lifetime Achievement Award. The ceremony will be held September 22 at Time Warner Center’s Rose Hall.