FishbowlNY TVNewser TVSpy LostRemote AgencySpy PRNewser GalleyCat SocialTimes

Want to Crash a Party Today? You’re Paying for it Either Way

Today the 113th Congress gets sworn in, and there’s nothing those people love more than celebrating themselves.

Since lawmakers (allegedly) work for us and we’re paying, I thought it only appropriate that you be abreast of their parties in case you wanted to stop by and say hello and eat and drink the food and beverages you are paying for every time they vote on an issue that matters to you. After all, it shouldn’t just be lobbyists seeking more of our money, so here’s the list…

Note to Readers: An AnonymASS source wrote in to complain about our headline, saying that lawmakers can’t use taxpayer money for any of the food or drink at today’s parties. “Maybe check with ethics before writing a headline like this,” ASS suggests. Good advice. So we checked. Our Hill sources say the parties can be paid for from campaign coffers. So whoever donates to the lawmaker pays for the party.

10:30-12:30 Ben Cardin (D) 106 Dirksen
11:00-3:00 Chris Murphy (D) 406 Dirksen SOB
11:00-3:00 Martin Heinrich (D) Library of Congress Members Room (Jefferson Building)
11:30-1:00 Joe Donnelly (D) 131 C Street, SE
11:30-3:00 Claire McCaskill (D) 562 Dirksen SOB
12:00-2:30 Bob Menedez (D) 419 Dirksen SOB
12:00-3:00 Bob Casey (D) G-50 Dirksen SOB
12:00-3:00 Debbie Stabenow (D) Ag Committee
12:00-3:00 Sherrod Brown (D) 538 Dirksen SOB
12:00-3:00 Tom Carper (D) 342 Dirksen SOB
2:00-5:00 Amy Klobuchar (D) 385 Russell SOB
2:00-5:00 Sheldon Whitehouse (D) 430 Dirksen SOB
3:00-4:30 Heidi Heitkamp (D) Budget Cmte 608 Dirksen SOB
6:00-8:00 Dick Durbin/IL Deleg./Fresh Dem Senate Class Bobby Van’s Grille 1201 New York Ave NW
8:00-9:30 Cheri Bustos (D) NDC 30 Ivy Street, SE
9:00-10:00 CBC Swearing in Ceremony Congressional North Room Capitol Visitors Center
9:00-11:00 Dan Maffei (D) 422 Cannon HOB
9:00-12:00 John Barrow (D) 2202 Rayburn HOB
9:30-11:30 Cheri Bustos (D) 1009 Longworth HOB
9:30-11:30 Ron Barber (D) 1029 Longworth HOB
10:00-1:00  Ann McLane Kuster (D) 137 Cannon HOB
10:00-1:00 Frank Pallone (D) 237 Cannon HOB
10:00-12:00 Tim Bishop (D) 306 Cannon HOB Molly Allen
10:00-2:00 Allyson Schwartz (D) 1227 Longworth HOB
10:00-2:00 Rick Nolan (D) MN Deleg. Reception B-354  Rayburn HOB Emily Tranter 202/544-9896
10:00-2:00 Denny Heck (D) 425 Cannon HOB
10:00-3:00 Derek Kilmer (D) 1429 Longworth HOB
11:00-2:00 Joaquin Castro (D) 212 Cannon HOB
11:00-2:30 David Cicilline (D) 128 Cannon HOB
11:00-3:00 Kyrsten Sinema (D) 1237 Longworth HOB
12:00-1:00 Joyce Beatty (D) LoC Jefferson Building, Kluge Room
12:00-2:00 Pete Gallego (D) 431 Cannon HOB
12:00-4:00 Ami Bera (D) 1408 Longworth HOB
12:00-4:00 Scott Peters (D) 2410 Rayburn HOB
1:00-4:00 Raul Ruis (D) 1319 Longworth HOB
2:00-4:00 Chris Van Hollen (D) 1100 Longworth HOB
2:00-4:00 Ann Kirkpatrick (D) 330 Cannon HOB or
2:00-4:00 Ron Kind (D) 1502 Longworth HOB 
2:00-5:00 Mark Pocan  (D) 313 Cannon HOB
3:00-5:00 Rick Nolan (D) Family & Friends Reception – 150 North Carolina Ave. SE Dotti Mavromatis 202/547-0945
3:00-5:00 Tammy Duckworth (D) DAV, 807 Maine Ave, SW
3:00-6:00 Julia Brownley (D) 1019 Longworth HOB
3:30-5:30 Patrick Murphy (D) MEBA / Flying Bridge 444 N Capitol St
4:00-6:00 Steven Horsford (D) 1330 Longworth HOB
4:00-6:00 Tim Walz (D) 1034 Longworth HOB
4:00-6:00 Eric Swalwell (D) 501 Cannon HOB Molly Allen
5:30-7:30 Lois Capps (D) 38 Ivy Street
6:00-7:00 Marcia Fudge (D) Charlie Palmer’s Steak 101 Constitution Ave, NW or
6:30-8:30 Reps. Kirkpatrick, Barber, Sinema (AZ) The Dubliner 520 North Capitol Street NW or
7:00-8:30 Joe Garcia (D) 324 Independence Ave SE
2:30-3:30 Deb Fischer (R ) 106 Dirksen SOB Larissa Martinez 228-0923
11:30-2:30 Roger Wicker (R) 555 Dirksen SOB
3:00-5:00 Dean Heller (R) 361 A Russell SOB 
9:00-12:00 Steve Womack (R) 1119 Longworth HOB
9:00-12:00 David Schweikert (R) 1205 Longworth HOB
9:00-2:00 Mike Fitzpatrick (R) B340 Rayburn HOB 
9:00-2:00 Pat Meehan (R) 204 Cannon HOB 
9:00-4:00 Mike Pompeo (R) 107 Cannon HOB
10:00-11:00 Andy Barr (R) 1432 Longworth HOB 
10:00-4:30 Tom Rice (R) 325 Cannon HOB
11:00-1:00 Steve Scalise (R) 2338 Rayburn HOB
11:00-1:00 Doug Collins (R) House Committee on Judiciary Library Room
11:00-1:00 Richard Hudson (R) Agriculture Committee 1300 Longworth HOB
11:00-2:00 Scott Garrett (R) 2232 Rayburn HOB 
11:00-2:30 Tom Reed (R) 1504 Longworth HOB
11:00-3:00 Lynn Jenkins (R) 1027 Longworth HOB
11:00-3:00 Trent Franks (R) 2435 Rayburn HOB
12:00-1:00  Bob Goodlatte (R) 
12:00-1:00 Tom Cotton (R) 415 Cannon HOB
12:00-4:00 Dennis Ross (R) 229 Cannon HOB 
12:00-5:00 Todd Rokita (R) 236 Cannon HOB
1:00-2:00 Doug Collins (R) 513 Cannon HOB
1:00-3:00 Randy Hultgren (R) 332 Cannon HOB
1:00-3:00 David McKinley (R) 412 Cannon HOB 
1:00-3:00 Richard Hudson (R) 429 Cannon HOB
1:00-3:00 Thomas Massie (R) 314 Cannon HOB
1:00-4:00 Mike Kelly (R) 1519 Longworth HOB
2:00-3:00 Chris Collins (R) 1117 Longworth HOB
2:00-3:00 Susan Brooks (R) 1501 Longworth HOB
2:00-4:00 Richard Hanna (R) 319 Cannon HOB 
2:00-4:00 Rodney Davis (R)
2:00-4:00 Aaron Schock (R) 328 Cannon HOB
2:00-4:00 Ann Wagner (R) 435 Cannon HOB
2:00-4:00 Steve Stivers (R) 1022 Longworth HOB
3:00-4:00 Austin Scott (R) 516 Cannon HOB
3:00-5:00 Kevin Yoder (R) 215 Cannon HOB
3:00-6:00 Daniel Benishek (R) 514 Cannon HOB
4:30-6:00 David Joyce (R) and BradWestrup (R) Capitol Hill Club, 300 First St, SE;
5:00-7:00 Georgia Deleg. Reception 439 New Jersey Ave, SE
5:00-7:00 Michael McCaul (R) 900 East Capitol Street, NE 
5:30-7:00 Steve Daines (R) AGC Townhouse, 53 D Street, SE
5:30-7:00 Cory Gardner (R) Charlie Palmers
5:30-7:30 Andy Barr (R) National Mining Assn 101 Constitution Suite 500
Mediabistro Course

Freelancing 101

Freelancing 101Starting December 1, learn how to manage a top-notch freelancing career! In this online boot camp, you'll hear from freelancing experts on the best practices for a solid freelancing career, from the first steps of self-advertising and marketing, to building your schedule and managing clients. Register now!