Heather Chin

Brooklyn, NY USA
Website: linkedin.com/in/heatherjchin

Professional Experience

A multimedia journalist with eight years of editing and reporting experience with daily and weekly newspapers, magazines, websites, and educational publishing, I often focus on topics of health, food, education, Asian American issues, media, and women's issues. In my free time, I sing with a women's choir, write short stories, live tweet about TV and books, and volunteer with Kiwanis International. I am available for reporting, editing and photography assignments in the New York City and Philadelphia areas.


4 Years
7 Years
7 Years


6 Years
3 Years
2 Years


Newspaper - Local/Regional
6 Years
Newspaper - National
1 Year
Magazine - Large Consumer/National magazines
2 Years

Total Media Industry Experience

8 Years

Media Client List (# assignments last 2 yrs)

Brooklyn Home Reporter and Sunset News (10+), Brooklyn Spectator Magazine (10+), Corner Media Group (10+)

Other Work History

Editor, Corner Media Group, 12/2014-5/2016 Editor/Staff Reporter/Photographer, Brooklyn Media Group, 1/2011-11/2014 Editorial Intern, Weight Watchers magazine, 06/2010-08/2010 Health Intern, The Philadelphia Inquirer, 06/2009-08/2009 Editorial Intern, Parenting magazine, 03/2009-05/2009 Reporting Intern, The Philadelphia Bulletin, 06/2008-08/2008 Editorial Intern, New York Moves Magazine & Roam Magazine, 04/2008-06/2008 Features Intern, www.thecelebritycafe.com, 03/2008 Content/Production Editor, Purun NY, 10/2006-04/2008 Staff Writer & Photographer, Release/Pipe Dream, Binghamton University, NY, '04-'06 Intern, Flame Tree Publishing, London, UK, 09/2005-12/2005 Intern, Continental Stock Transfer & Trust Co., NY, NY, 05/1998-09/2006

Foreign Language Skills

Familiar with Spanish and Chinese (spoken Toi-San)


I do not belong to a union.

Computer Skills

Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Google+, Pinterest, YouTube, Soundslides, Wordpress, Tweetdeck, FB Insights, Word, Excel, PowerPoint, InCopy, Photoshop, Final Cut Pro, TwitterCounter, Google Analytics, Hootsuite, Chartbeat, ExpressScribe, Slack?


Mac, PC, Canon SD750, Canon Rebel XTi, Marantz recorders


Helen Klein, Editor-In-Chief, Brooklyn Media Group, hklein@brooklynreporter.com Steven Strasser, Professor at CUNY Journalism, steven.strasser@journalism.cuny.edu Karl Stark, SMASH Editor, The Philadelphia Inquirer, kstark@phillynews.com Helen Cha, EIC Purun NY, helencha212@yahoo.com, 347-809-6853 Edna Sobiesiak, CST&T Co., edna.sobiesiak@yahoo.com, 212-845-3201 Charlotte Owens, Kiwanis NYCYP Board Member, charlotte.c.owens@gmail.com


Third Place: Coverage of Health, Health Care and Science, 2013 New York Press Association


Asian American Journalists Association, Association of Health Care Journalists, Online News Association, Society of Professional Journalists, Kiwanis International, Project Sunshine

Work Samples


(NY City News Service 6/5/2009)
"Brooklyn Terminal Market has occupied 15.5 acres of city-owned land in Canarsie for the last 67 years. Predominantly Italian and Jewish vendors have given way in recent years to Dominican, Korean, and Guyanese merchants, reflecting changes in the neighboring population. But the latest change isn’t personal – it’s business. The vendors, old and new, are coming together in an attempt to buy the land they currently lease from the city to ensure the market survives."
(The Philadelphia Inquirer 9/4/2009)
(New York Press 8/1/2007)
Book review of an anthology.
(The Philadelphia Inquirer 8/17/2009)